
Johnson C Smith University
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Johnson C Smith University: international tuition 23,260 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 34,923 USD, acceptance rate 45.2%. Published minimum English scores: TOEFL iBT 68.
Getting in. The school admits 45.2% of applicants. The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for TOEFL iBT 68+. No IELTS score is listed.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 34,923 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship comes with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. You apply through Johnson C. Smith University's Online Application Portal. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Johnson C Smith University?
International tuition is 23,260 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 34,923 USD.
What English scores does Johnson C Smith University require?
Published minimum English scores: TOEFL iBT 68.
What is the acceptance rate at Johnson C Smith University?
The acceptance rate is 45.2%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
2025 2026 UNCF Scholarship ApplicationsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page only lists UNCF scholarship applications and does not state citizenship or international-student eligibility.
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, Inc. Reducing the Financial Barrier ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page gives an award amount but does not state citizenship or international-student eligibility.
North Carolina Community Foundation ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says the scholarships are for NC Students but does not confirm eligibility for international students.
Deadline: Applications open on Jan. 7, 2025.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyiInternational applicants must show English proficiency, e.g. via TOEFL or SAT Reading/Writing, unless exempt.Required
- Proof of fundsiA financial declaration and a certified bank or sponsor statement showing funds for tuition, fees and living costs are required.Required
- Supplementary applicationiInternational applicants need a course-by-course credential evaluation with GPA from a NACES or AICE member, sent directly to JCSU.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Presidential Scholarship award dateScholarshipin123days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
30 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data