
Ohio University-Main Campus
- Public
- Research university
Ohio University-Main Campus: international tuition 26,792 USD per year, one-year total cost 46,826 USD, acceptance rate 85%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 4, Duolingo 110.
Ohio University considers first-year international students for merit scholarships, including the merit portions of the OHIO Excellence Awards (except the Admission Promise Award). The pages are silent on need-based aid, need-blind admission and CSS Profile for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 85% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–650, Math 540–640, ACT 22–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 4+ or Duolingo 110+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 46,826 USD, before any scholarship. 3 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet. For the I-20, the school needs proof of 46,826 USD. Health insurance is 3,239 USD a year.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Ohio University-Main Campus?
International tuition is 26,792 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 46,826 USD.
Does Ohio University-Main Campus offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Ohio University considers first-year international students for merit scholarships, including the merit portions of the OHIO Excellence Awards (except the Admission Promise Award). The pages are silent on need-based aid, need-blind admission and CSS Profile for international students.
What English scores does Ohio University-Main Campus require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 4, Duolingo 110.
What is the acceptance rate at Ohio University-Main Campus?
The acceptance rate is 85%.
- Pay in fullYes
- Aid with the offerUnclear
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclear
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
What a year costs
The $26,792 figure combines tuition and fees for international students on the Athens campus; the school does not list tuition separately.
iAbout VND conversion
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?iUnclear
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?iUnclear
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?iUnclear
Scholarships at this school
International Scholarships (first-year/transfer international applicants)Intl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritApplication method unclearSchool page
The source page is not clear enough to conclude this for international students.
Deadline: Application due dates and requirements vary
OHIO Admission Promise AwardIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The FAQ excepts the Admission Promise Award from international merit eligibility because it requires a FAFSA, but it does not state an outright exclusion by citizenship, so a definitive 'No' isn't established.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early Action November 15, 2026; FAFSA priority January 15, 2027
OHIO Excellence Awards (merit-based portions)Intl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The source page is not clear enough to conclude this for international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early Action deadline November 15, 2026 for automatic consideration
OHIO Excellence Awards ProgramIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page states automatic consideration for freshmen but does not say whether international students are eligible.
Deadline: November 15, 2026
OHIO Premier ScholarshipIntl?Intl eligibility unclearTuition subsidyConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only identifies first-year HTC students admitted for fall and does not state citizenship or visa eligibility.
- Renewable in later years
OHIO Trustee AwardIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The award is for out-of-state students, but the pages do not say whether international students count as out-of-state for this award.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early Action November 15, 2026
ONCA Undergraduate Leadership and Professional Development AwardsIntl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherSeparate application requiredSchool page
The grant is open to Ohio University undergraduates but does not explicitly state eligibility for international students.
- First year only
Deadline: October 15, 2026 at 11:59 pm EST
Admission requirements
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyiRequired
- SATACTOptional
- EssaysiOptional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Application deadline for best scholarship consideration (freshmen)Scholarshipin30days
- Deadline to send additional test scores for scholarship considerationScholarship+91 days
- Bobcat Student Orientation registration beginsOrientation+108 days
- Last day the $200 housing deposit is refundableDeposit+197 days
- Deadline to request final transcript be sent to OHIODocuments+257 days
Credit for exams
AP exams scoring 3 or higher earn credit; per-subject details are in a separate chart and may change.
Scores that count12345IB Higher Level exams graded 5+ may earn up to nine semester hours each; subsidiary exams earn no credit.
Scores that count1234567Each A-Level exam graded D or higher may earn up to nine semester hours; AS exams are considered case by case at a lower amount.
Scores that countfrom D
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data