
Whitman College
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Whitman College: international tuition 64,050 USD per year, one-year total cost 78,092 USD, acceptance rate 38.2%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110.
Whitman offers international students both automatically considered merit awards and need-based aid meeting 100% of demonstrated need, but it is need-aware, so admission is very competitive for those needing full aid. The WISFAA is required.
Getting in. The school admits 40.2% of applicants (2,791 of 6,950). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 670–740, Math 640–740, ACT 29–33. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+ or Duolingo 110+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 78,092 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 201 international students got financial aid, 51,730 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 15/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026
What is the tuition at Whitman College?
International tuition is 64,050 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 78,092 USD.
Does Whitman College offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Whitman offers international students both automatically considered merit awards and need-based aid meeting 100% of demonstrated need, but it is need-aware, so admission is very competitive for those needing full aid. The WISFAA is required.
What English scores does Whitman College require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110.
What is the acceptance rate at Whitman College?
The acceptance rate is 38.2%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: the CSS Profile (or the school's own financial aid form), sent with your application; no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Whitman College2025Official
- Whitman College2025Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe page says merit scholarships need no separate application; all applicants, including international students, are considered automatically with their admission application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?NoWhitman describes itself as 'highly need-aware' for international students: under 2% needing full support are admitted, so admission decisions do consider ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesInternational students seeking need-based aid must submit Whitman's own form, the WISFAA, rather than the CSS Profile; there is no fee for it.
Need-aware: applying for aid can affect admission
Scholarships at this school
Academic merit-based scholarshipsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The international students page states they are eligible and automatically considered.
Talent scholarships (music, art, debate, theater)TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page explicitly says international applicants may apply for talent scholarships.
Eells ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Application method unclearSchool page
The page identifies an incoming student with financial need, but does not confirm eligibility for international students.
Garrett-Sherwood ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page says top 1% of applicants but does not mention international students.
Garrett-Sherwood ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page describes the scholarship for exceptional applicants but does not state whether international students may receive it.
Talent & Passions ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page encourages all incoming students to apply but does not explicitly establish eligibility for international students.
Deadline: Up to five days after the admission deadline.
Whitman Merit ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page describes awards for academically strong applicants but does not confirm eligibility for international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Nov 15 (Early Decision I); Dec 01 (Early Action); Jan 05 (Early Decision II); Jan 15 (Regular Decision)
Financial aid dates (first year)
- 15/11Priority filing date
- 15/01Aid application deadline
- 01/03Aid notification
- 01/05Reply by
Forms international students file for aid
- Institution's own aid form
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyiTOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo scores are required unless a waiver applies.Required
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Counselor recommendationiA counselor recommendation is needed; without a counselor, a second teacher evaluation can substitute.Required
- Teacher recommendationRequired
- SATACTiSAT/ACT scores are optional but strongly encouraged.Optional
- InterviewiInterviews are not required; a recorded video interview via InitialView or Vericant is an option.Not required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 42 United States schools admitting 15–40% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Decision 1 application deadline (ED)Applicationabout31days
- Early Action application deadline (EA)Application+47 days
- Early Decision 2 application deadline (ED2)Application+82 days
- Early Decision 1 enroll-by date (ED)Deposit+92 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+92 days
- Early Decision 1 enrollment deadline (ED)Other+92 days
- Early Decision 2 enroll-by date (ED2)Deposit+137 days
- Early Decision 2 enrollment deadline (ED2)Other+137 days
- Early Action enroll-by date (EA)Deposit+198 days
- Regular Decision enroll-by date (RD)Deposit+198 days
- Early Action enrollment deadline (EA)Other+198 days
- Regular Decision enrollment deadline (RD)Other+198 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- GPAVery important
- Application essayVery important
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- Talent / abilityImportant
- Character / personal qualitiesImportant
- Class rankConsidered
- SATACTConsidered
- InterviewConsidered
- First generationConsidered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestConsidered
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
Credit for exams
Whitman grants credit for certain IB scores and specified IB exams; this page does not state the required scores.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
33 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data