
Winston-Salem State University
- Public
Winston-Salem State University: international tuition 16,782 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 33,803 USD, acceptance rate 78.3%.
Getting in. The school admits 78.3% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 430–520, Math 400–500, ACT 15–20. The school requires the SAT or ACT. The school has not published a minimum English score.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 33,803 USD, before any scholarship. 4 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/8. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 14/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Winston-Salem State University?
International tuition is 16,782 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 33,803 USD.
What is the acceptance rate at Winston-Salem State University?
The acceptance rate is 78.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- JaKayla Emani2023Vlog
- The Aaliyah B2025Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
Chancellor ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page gives criteria for admitted new freshmen but does not state whether international students are eligible.
Deadline: 2027 Merit Scholarship Application now open through Dec 8.
Provost ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page gives criteria for admitted new freshmen but does not state whether international students are eligible.
Deadline: 2027 Merit Scholarship Application now open through Dec 8.
WSSU Chancellor Scholarship (Merit)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
Deadline: Application open through Dec 8 (2027 cycle); decisions expected January 2027
WSSU Provost Scholarship (Merit)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Deadline: Application open through Dec 8 (2027 cycle); decisions expected January 2027
- WSSU Scholarship UniverseIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- SATACTRequired
- English proficiencyiIf English is not your native language, you must submit TOEFL or IELTS scores even if your prior school taught in English.Required
- High-school transcriptiInternational transcripts must be evaluated by a Credential Evaluation Service accepted by the university.Required
- Proof of fundsiAn international undergraduate applicant must show $32,400 in funds for the estimated costs of two semesters.Required
How to apply
Typical minimum English scores
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- International application deadline for Spring EntryApplicationin47days
- Undergraduate international student application deadline for Spring EntryApplication+59 days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
35 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data