
Alfred University
- Private
Alfred University: international tuition 44,300 USD per year, one-year total cost 67,082 USD, acceptance rate 73.8%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 100.
First-year international students can receive merit scholarships at Alfred (e.g., Alfred University Scholar, $18,000-$30,000/year). Need-based aid for internationals is unclear, and proof of funds is required with the application.
Getting in. The school admits 50.6% of applicants (3,589 of 7,091). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 555–660, Math 540–650, ACT 24–29. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 80+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 67,082 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2022-2023, 69 international students got financial aid, 22,767 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 15/3. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Alfred University?
International tuition is 44,300 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 67,082 USD.
Does Alfred University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. First-year international students can receive merit scholarships at Alfred (e.g., Alfred University Scholar, $18,000-$30,000/year). Need-based aid for internationals is unclear, and proof of funds is required with the application.
What English scores does Alfred University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Alfred University?
The acceptance rate is 73.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Alfred University2023Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
Tuition by group
- Liberal Arts & Sciences, Business, Performing Arts, Engineering - Electrical, Mechanical, Renewable Energy, Undecided44,300 USD≈ ₫1.15B
- Art & Design***, Engineering – Biomaterials, Ceramic, Glass, Materials Science44,300 USD≈ ₫1.15B
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says most awards follow an admissions review of GPA, rigor etc., but it does not clearly state whether international students are considered automatically or need a separate application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages require a bank statement for review but never state whether admission is need-blind for international applicants, so no conclusion can be drawn.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearNo page mentions CSS Profile or a separate international aid form; the Financial Certification Form is for proving funds for the visa, not an aid application.
Scholarships at this school
Alfred University ScholarMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page18,000 – 30,000 USD/year≈ ₫469M – ₫782M
The page explicitly says both domestic and international students can receive this award.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: School nomination deadline (date not given)
Institutional scholarships for international students (50-75% of tuition)OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: Cover 50-75% of tuition; do not cover housing, meals or fees
The international FAQ says scholarships covering 50-75% of tuition are offered, so international students are eligible, but the selection criteria are not stated.
Presidential / Deans / Jonathan Allen / King Alfred / 1836 merit scholarships (GPA-tiered)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page says merit awards exist for international students but does not state specifically that each GPA tier applies to them.
- Renewable in later years
Virtual open house visit grantIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
This is listed among post-acceptance tasks on the international page, but the text does not explicitly state who is eligible.
U.S. student figures2022–23Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- EssaysRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2026
This cycle's dates have passed; the school has not posted next cycle's dates yet.
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankVery important
- GPAVery important
- SATACTImportant
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
Credit for exams
Students with the IB Diploma receive 30 semester credits and sophomore standing.
Scores that countfrom IB DiplomaWithout the IB Diploma, each SL score of 6 or higher may earn credit for one introductory course.
Scores that count1234567
AP credit by subject
36 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data