
Appalachian State University
- Public
Appalachian State University: international tuition 27,259 USD per year, one-year total cost 45,791 USD, acceptance rate 90.1%. This page lists 3 scholarships open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 78, Duolingo 100.
Getting in. The school admits 90.1% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 570–660, Math 550–620, ACT 21–27. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 78+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 45,791 USD, before any scholarship. 3 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at Appalachian State University?
International tuition is 27,259 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 45,791 USD.
Does Appalachian State University offer scholarships for international students?
This page lists 3 scholarships open to international students. App State's pages describe merit and need-based scholarships for first-year students but never say whether international students are eligible. Contact [email protected] directly to confirm.
What English scores does Appalachian State University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 78, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Appalachian State University?
The acceptance rate is 90.1%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Summer2023Vlog
- AppTV2023Vlog
- Caroline Elizabeth2023Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
The page lists only the out-of-state (non-NC resident) rate for Boone, with tuition and fees combined; it does not say this is a separate international rate.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
Garrett Family Global Engagement ScholarshipNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page250 – 2,000 USD≈ ₫6.51M – ₫52.1M
The fund explicitly supports international students with financial need; the general OIP study abroad requirement should be confirmed.
Deadline: OIP cycles: Mar 27, 2026; Nov 13, 2026; Jan 11, 2027
Global Engagement Scholarship (also Woodson-Horine Global Engagement Scholarship)OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page250 – 2,000 USD≈ ₫6.51M – ₫52.1M
The fund explicitly supports international degree-seeking students, but the general OIP rules require applying to a study abroad program, so confirm with OIP.
Deadline: OIP cycles: Mar 27, 2026; Nov 13, 2026; Jan 11, 2027
Mary Jo Sharpe Scholarship for Global ExperiencesNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page250 – 2,000 USD≈ ₫6.51M – ₫52.1M
The fund explicitly supports international students and requires financial need; the general OIP study abroad requirement should be confirmed.
Deadline: OIP cycles: Mar 27, 2026; Nov 13, 2026; Jan 11, 2027
ACCESS (Murray Family ACCESS Scholarship)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The program is for first-year students in North Carolina and builds on federal and state grants, so international students likely don't fit, but the page does not explicitly exclude them.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Nov. 15 (admission application)
ACCESS (need-based, North Carolina first-year students)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The program is for North Carolina first-year students and supplements federal and state grants, so it is unlikely to apply to international students; the page does not state this explicitly.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Nov. 15
Appalachian Excellence Scholarship (AES) - first-yearIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page neither mentions nor excludes international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Nov. 15
Beaver ScholarsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page gives no citizenship or international student criteria, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Nov. 15
Chancellor's ScholarsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says nothing about international students for this scholarship, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Nov. 15
OIP Scholarships (study abroad)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Mainly for App State students studying abroad; some funds mention supporting international degree-seeking students already enrolled, but it is not aimed at incoming first-years.
- First year only
Deadline: Application cycles: March 27, 2026; Nov. 13, 2026; Jan. 11, 2027
W.H. Plemmons Leadership ScholarsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not mention international students for this scholarship, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Nov. 15
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Proof of fundsiF-1 visa holders must send a copy of their visa, passport and a financial statement.Required
- SATACTRequired
- Supplementary applicationOptional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Priority deadline for admission and scholarships for first-year studentsScholarshipabout31days
- Complete application for scholarship consideration (ROLLING)Scholarship+31 days
- Deadline for all supplemental materials for guaranteed scholarship considerationDocuments+46 days
- Scholarship recipients begin to be announcedScholarship+109 days
- Scholarship recipients announced starting this dateDecision+109 days
- Scholarship recipients announced starting (ROLLING)Scholarship+109 days
- Enrollment deposit deadline (first-year)Deposit+198 days
- Deposit deadline (ROLLING)Deposit+198 days
Credit for exams
AP scores below 3 are not accepted, and scores of 4 or 5 sometimes earn additional credit.
Scores that count12345IB Diploma students may receive credit or advanced placement; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
53 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data