
Bucknell University
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Bucknell University: international tuition 72,600 USD per year, one-year total cost 97,716 USD, acceptance rate 28.9%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, TOEFL iBT 5, Duolingo 130.
Bucknell offers a few partial merit awards and limited need-based aid to international students, but it is highly competitive and not need-blind for them. The ISAFA and a bank statement are required.
Getting in. The school admits 28.9% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 610–690, Math 610–710, ACT 27–31. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 7+, TOEFL iBT 5+ or Duolingo 130+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 97,716 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/11. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Bucknell University?
International tuition is 72,600 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 97,716 USD.
Does Bucknell University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Bucknell offers a few partial merit awards and limited need-based aid to international students, but it is highly competitive and not need-blind for them. The ISAFA and a bank statement are required.
What English scores does Bucknell University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, TOEFL iBT 5, Duolingo 130.
What is the acceptance rate at Bucknell University?
The acceptance rate is 28.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe international page says you must apply by the deadline to compete for merit, and the scholarship page says many awards need a separate application, so merit is not clearly automatic for internationals.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?NoThe page states Bucknell is currently not need-blind for international students, so family ability to pay is part of the admission decision.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesInternational students must submit the separate ISAFA form plus a bank statement; the CSS Profile is optional, not required.
Need-aware: applying for aid can affect admission
Scholarships at this school
Bucknell need-based aid for international studentsNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page states international students can receive need-based aid, though it is very limited.
Deadline: ED I Nov. 1; ED II and RD Jan. 10
Bucknell partial merit scholarships for international studentsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool pagepartial
The international students page explicitly says a few partial merit scholarships go to international students yearly.
Deadline: ED I Nov. 1; ED II and RD Jan. 10
Arts Merit ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early Decision I: Nov. 1; Early Decision II/Regular Decision: Jan. 10.
Bauer Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state international status; the scholarship is also restricted by Baltimore residence or school attendance.
Bucknell Community College Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this program.
Deadline: Early Decision I: Nov. 1; Early Decision II/Regular Decision: Jan. 10.
Bucknell Community Engagement Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early Decision I: Nov. 1; Early Decision II/Regular Decision: Jan. 10.
Dean's ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not say whether international students are eligible.
Engineering Merit Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Malesardi Arts & Sciences Merit Scholarship ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Management Merit Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Mathematics Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early Decision I: Nov. 1; Early Decision II/Regular Decision: Jan. 10.
Presidential Fellowship ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international status, and says the program was replaced for newer classes.
- Renewable in later years
PwC ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not mention international students, so eligibility is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Nov. 1 (ED I); Jan. 10 (ED II and RD)
Tools for Tomorrow ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state nationality or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
Deadline: Early Decision I: Nov. 1; Early Decision II/Regular Decision: Jan. 10.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- EssaysRequired
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Counselor recommendationRequired
- Teacher recommendationRequired
- SATACTOptional
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
- InterviewOptional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 42 United States schools admitting 15–40% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 28 United States schools admitting 15–40% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Decision I Deadline (ED)Applicationin17days
- Early Decision I scholarship application due (ED)Scholarship+17 days
- Early Decision I financial documents deadline (ED)Documents+17 days
- Early Decision II Deadline (ED2)Application+87 days
- Early Decision II scholarship application due (ED2)Scholarship+87 days
- Regular Decision Deadline (RD)Application+87 days
- Regular Decision scholarship application due (RD)Scholarship+87 days
- Early Decision II or Regular Decision financial documents deadline (RD)Documents+87 days
- Regular Decision Enrollment Deposit Due (RD)Deposit+198 days
- Outstanding Financial Aid Documents DueDocuments+202 days
- Outstanding Financial Aid Documents DueFinancial aid+202 days
- Deferral Requests DueOther+229 days
- Official Test Scores DueDocuments+259 days
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
Credit for exams
IB Diploma recipients scoring at least 5 in each of six subjects receive six Bucknell course credits.
Scores that count1234567IB Certificate students may receive credit for each Higher Level subject scored 5 or above.
Scores that count1234567IB Diploma recipients with at least 5 in all six subjects receive six Bucknell course credits.
Scores that count1234567If the IB Diploma threshold is not met, credit applies only to Higher Level subjects scored 5 or above.
Scores that count1234567
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
39 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data