
Buena Vista University
- Private
Buena Vista University: international tuition 44,214 USD per year, one-year total cost 61,064 USD, acceptance rate 77.6%.
Getting in. The school admits 77.6% of applicants. Admitted students scored around ACT 19–26. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. The school has not published a minimum English score.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 61,064 USD, before any scholarship. 10 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/6. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Buena Vista University?
International tuition is 44,214 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 61,064 USD.
What is the acceptance rate at Buena Vista University?
The acceptance rate is 77.6%.
- Pay in fullYes
- Aid with the offerUnclear
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclear
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
What a year costs
iAbout VND conversion
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
Academic scholarships (Presidential/Heritage/Arch/Blue/Gold)Intl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Page says first-years are automatically considered by GPA but never mentions international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Arch ScholarshipIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This is a GPA-based first-year scholarship, but the page does not state whether international students are eligible.
Beaver Visit GrantIntl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherApplication method unclearSchool page
For students who visit campus; international eligibility is not stated.
Blue AwardIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This is a GPA-based first-year scholarship, but the page does not state whether international students are eligible.
Build-Up-Iowa ScholarshipIntl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherApplication method unclearSchool page
The scholarship requires Iowa residency, but the page never mentions international students or citizenship, so an explicit exclusion of international students cannot be concluded.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority: must be admitted by April 1
Gold AwardIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This is a GPA-based first-year scholarship, but the page does not state whether international students are eligible.
Heritage ScholarshipIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This is a GPA-based first-year scholarship, but the page does not state whether international students are eligible.
Iowa Access GrantIntl?Intl eligibility unclearNeed-basedApplication method unclearSchool page
This grant requires Iowa residency, a Pell Grant and an Iowa Tuition Grant, but the page never directly addresses international students, so their exclusion cannot be firmly concluded.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority: must be admitted by April 1
Legacy ScholarshipIntl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherApplication method unclearSchool page
For students with a parent or grandparent who is a BVU graduate; citizenship is not mentioned.
Out-of-State GrantIntl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherApplication method unclearSchool page
The page says this grant is for U.S. residents living outside Iowa, which implies but never explicitly excludes international students, and it is not a universal negative about aid.
Presidential ScholarshipIntl?Intl eligibility unclearMeritConsidered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This is a GPA-based first-year scholarship, but the page does not state whether international students are eligible.
Talent & Co-Curricular Awards (fine arts, music, esports, dance, archery, livestock)Intl?Intl eligibility unclearTalentSeparate application requiredSchool page
Page does not address citizenship, so international eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Audition/portfolio by Feb. 28 or Mar. 1
Admission requirements
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptiRequired
- English proficiencyiRequired
- Proof of fundsiRequired
How to apply
Typical minimum English scores
Deadlines
- Deadline to submit all required materials for Fall (August) entry – international applicantsApplicationabout228days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
35 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data