
Case Western Reserve University
- Private
- Research university
Case Western Reserve University: international tuition 71,410 USD per year, one-year total cost 95,704 USD, acceptance rate 36.5%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, Duolingo 115.
First-year international students can apply for limited need-based aid (CSS Profile required) and enter CWRU's scholarship competitions (Feb. 15 deadline). The automatic merit awards are listed only for U.S. citizens/permanent residents.
Getting in. The school admits 35.3% of applicants (13,890 of 39,332). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 700–760, Math 730–780, ACT 32–34. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 7+ or Duolingo 115+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 95,704 USD, before any scholarship. 9 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 275 international students got financial aid, 43,200 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/11. You apply through Coalition with Scoir. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Case Western Reserve University?
International tuition is 71,410 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 95,704 USD.
Does Case Western Reserve University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. First-year international students can apply for limited need-based aid (CSS Profile required) and enter CWRU's scholarship competitions (Feb. 15 deadline). The automatic merit awards are listed only for U.S. citizens/permanent residents.
What English scores does Case Western Reserve University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, Duolingo 115.
What is the acceptance rate at Case Western Reserve University?
The acceptance rate is 36.5%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Bhargavi Vatte2026Vlog
- Jane2025Vlog
- Bhargavi Vatte2026Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says all first-year applicants get automatic merit consideration, but its list of automatic awards names only U.S. citizens/permanent residents. So it is unclear whether international students are automatically considered.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe page only says need-based aid for international students is 'limited'. Nothing states whether admission decisions do or do not take ability to pay into account.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesThe international students page says the CSS Profile (school code 1105) is required for need-based institutional grant, loan and campus employment.
Scholarships at this school
A.W. Smith Innovation ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: Two scholarships in the amount of tuition
It is part of the scholarship competitions and has no note excluding international students.
Deadline: Complete scholarship application must be received by Feb. 15
Andrew and Eleanor Squire ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: Four-year scholarship in the amount of tuition
It is a scholarship competition with no note excluding international students, so they may participate.
Deadline: Complete scholarship application must be received by Feb. 15
Arts Achievement ScholarshipsTalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page10,000 USD≈ ₫261M
This is a scholarship competition open to international students unless otherwise noted.
Deadline: Feb. 15
Brian D. Sherwood Memorial ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page2,500 USD≈ ₫65.2M
The page allows international students in scholarship competitions; this award additionally requires nomination from Mundelein High School.
Deadline: Feb. 15
Case Western Reserve University Leadership ScholarshipsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page2,000 – 5,000 USD≈ ₫52.2M – ₫130M
It is listed among the scholarship competitions with no note excluding international students.
Deadline: Complete scholarship application must be received by Feb. 15
FIRST ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page10,000 – 40,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M – ₫1.04B
This is a scholarship competition open to international students unless otherwise noted.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Feb. 15
Milton A. and Roslyn Z. Wolf ScholarshipFull ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool pageFull ride
It is a scholarship competition open to all first-year students, with no note excluding international students.
Deadline: Complete scholarship application must be received by Feb. 15
Need-based institutional grant (international first-year)Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: Limited amount; not specified
The Financial Aid page explicitly states limited need-based aid is available to first-year international applicants.
Performing Arts ScholarshipsTalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: scholarships in the amount of tuition
This is a scholarship competition open to international students unless otherwise noted.
Deadline: Feb. 15
Cleveland ScholarsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page only says graduates of certain Cleveland-area schools are automatically eligible; it never mentions citizenship or excludes international students, so it cannot be concluded they are barred.
Louis Stokes Congressional Black Caucus Foundation ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says it is open to all first-year students, but it is a U.S. foundation award for disadvantaged students and citizenship requirements are not stated.
Deadline: Complete scholarship application must be received by Feb. 15
University ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The automatic-consideration section names only U.S. citizens/permanent residents and does not address international students, so it is unclear.
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Counselor recommendationRequired
- Teacher recommendationRequired
- EssaysRequired
- Supplementary applicationiArts Supplement is required for music and music education majors and optional for everyone else.Optional
- SATACTOptional
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 42 United States schools admitting 15–40% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Action application deadline (EA)Applicationabout17days
- Early Decision I application deadline (ED)Application+17 days
- Early Action financial aid documents deadline (EA)Financial aid+31 days
- Early Decision I financial aid documents deadline (ED)Financial aid+31 days
- Pre-Professional Scholars Program application deadlineApplication+47 days
- Early Decision I anticipated notification (ED)Decision+51 days
- Early Decision I deadline to enroll (ED)Deposit+58 days
- Pre-Professional Scholars Program financial aid documents deadlineFinancial aid+61 days
- Early Action anticipated notification (EA)Decision+65 days
- Early Decision II application deadline (ED2)Application+92 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+92 days
- Early Decision II financial aid documents deadline (ED2)Financial aid+99 days
- Pre-Professional Scholars Program anticipated notification dateDecision+107 days
- Regular Decision financial aid documents deadline (RD)Financial aid+109 days
- Early Decision II anticipated notification (ED2)Decision+114 days
- Regular Decision anticipated notification (RD)Decision+156 days
- Early Action deadline to enroll (EA)Deposit+198 days
- Regular Decision deadline to enroll (RD)Deposit+198 days
- Pre-Professional Scholars Program enrollment deadlineDeposit+198 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankVery important
- GPAVery important
- Extracurricular activitiesVery important
- Application essayImportant
- RecommendationsImportant
- InterviewImportant
- Talent / abilityImportant
- Character / personal qualitiesImportant
- Volunteer workImportant
- SATACTConsidered
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni relationConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestConsidered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
Credit for exams
CWRU awards college credit for AP, IB and A-Level exam scores; the minimum score and the credit amount differ by subject.
IB credit may replace certain specific courses once the university posts it.
A-Level credit may replace certain specific courses once the university posts it.
AP credit by subject
37 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data