
Central Michigan University
- Public
- Research university
Central Michigan University: international tuition 27,000 USD per year, one-year total cost 41,246 USD, acceptance rate 89.8%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 100.
International first-year students, including Vietnamese applicants, can pursue CMU merit scholarships; Maroon and Gold is automatically considered with the admission application. CMU does not confirm institutional need-based aid, need-blind admission, or a CSS Profile requirement for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 89.8% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 490–610, Math 470–590, ACT 21–27. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 41,246 USD, before any scholarship. 4 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet. Health insurance is 1,600 USD a year. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 27 international students got financial aid, 16,805 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 15/5. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Central Michigan University?
International tuition is 27,000 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 41,246 USD.
Does Central Michigan University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. International first-year students, including Vietnamese applicants, can pursue CMU merit scholarships; Maroon and Gold is automatically considered with the admission application. CMU does not confirm institutional need-based aid, need-blind admission, or a CSS Profile requirement for international students.
What English scores does Central Michigan University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Central Michigan University?
The acceptance rate is 89.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Karthik Reddy2024Vlog
- Your nikhil dc2023Vlog
- Karthik Reddy2024Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearCMU says freshmen are automatically considered for merit awards, but does not clearly extend this automatic rule to international students.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages do not state whether ability to pay is considered in admission decisions for international students.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages do not require a CSS Profile or a separate financial-aid form for international students.
Scholarships at this school
Centralis Gold AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state whether the Centralis Gold Award is open to international students.
Deadline: November 2, 2026
Centralis Scholar AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state whether the Centralis Scholar Award is open to international students.
Deadline: November 2, 2026
Leader Advancement ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not confirm whether this individual competitive scholarship is open to international students.
Deadline: January 15, 2027
Maroon and Gold Merit ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Apply by December 1 to receive priority consideration.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyiProof of English proficiency is needed unless you qualify for an exemption.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Preferred application deadline for the fall semester (late August start)Applicationabout212days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- GPAVery important
- Talent / abilityImportant
- Class rankConsidered
- SATACTConsidered
- Application essayConsidered
- RecommendationsConsidered
- InterviewConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
- Character / personal qualitiesConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- First generationNot considered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
53 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data