
Chicago State University
- Public
Chicago State University: international tuition 12,754 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 29,764 USD, acceptance rate 43.3%. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 68.
Getting in. The school admits 43.3% of applicants. The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+ or TOEFL iBT 68+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 29,764 USD, before any scholarship. There are 6 scholarships, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/12. You apply through Chicago State University online. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Chicago State University?
International tuition is 12,754 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 29,764 USD.
What English scores does Chicago State University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 68.
What is the acceptance rate at Chicago State University?
The acceptance rate is 43.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 16/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
CSU Academic Scholarship (college-awarded)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not mention international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Honors College scholarships (tuition and mandatory fees)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page says international students cannot complete a FAFSA and so cannot currently receive the Honors College tuition and fees scholarships, which excludes international students from this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority deadline December 1
Honors College tuition and mandatory fees scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page states that international students, being unable to file a FAFSA, currently cannot receive the Honors College tuition and fees scholarships, so this scholarship excludes them.
- Renewable in later years
Housing ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not mention international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Priority deadline June 30
Music Talent Waiver / Music scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says nothing about international student eligibility, so no conclusion can be drawn.
RISE Scholar ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
Pages do not state citizenship or immigration conditions, so eligibility is unclear.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyRequired
- High-school transcriptRequired
- SATACTOptional
- Supplementary applicationRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Spring final deadlineApplicationabout17days
- Fall priority deadlineApplication+47 days
- Fall final deadlineApplication+229 days
Credit for exams
CSU generally considers AP credit when you meet each exam’s minimum score; this page does not state the threshold.
CSU generally considers IB credit when you meet each exam’s minimum score; this page does not state the threshold.
CSU generally accepts AP credit when you meet the required minimum score for the specific exam.
CSU generally accepts IB credit when you meet the required minimum score for the specific exam.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
55 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data