
Chowan University
- Private
Chowan University: international tuition 27,910 USD per year, one-year total cost 39,027 USD, acceptance rate 68.8%. Merit scholarships are open to international students.
Chowan states that it offers merit based aid to all students, including international students, so a Vietnamese applicant can be considered for merit aid. The pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind admission or any separate international aid form.
Getting in. The school admits 68.8% of applicants. The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. The school has not published a minimum English score.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 39,027 USD, before any scholarship. 6 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
What is the tuition at Chowan University?
International tuition is 27,910 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 39,027 USD.
Does Chowan University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Chowan states that it offers merit based aid to all students, including international students, so a Vietnamese applicant can be considered for merit aid. The pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind admission or any separate international aid form.
What is the acceptance rate at Chowan University?
The acceptance rate is 68.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says newly accepted students are automatically considered for merit scholarships, but that sentence does not mention international students, so it cannot be confirmed for you.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages say nothing about whether admission decisions for international students take ability to pay into account, so this cannot be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages only mention the FAFSA for U.S. citizens and eligible non-citizens. They do not mention a CSS Profile or a separate international aid form, so this is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
Athletic ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Application method unclearSchool page
The international section only says some students may be eligible for athletic scholarships in certain areas, without explicitly naming international students.
Campus Visit ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
It requires an in-person campus visit and the page does not mention international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: Visit between March of junior year and January 15 of senior year
Chowan Scholarship Day AwardsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The awards are for incoming students, but the page does not say whether international students may compete or receive them.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Interviews are held on select dates in November and January.
Chowan Scholarship Day Awards (Leadership / Dean's / Trustee)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not mention international students and requires the FAFSA, which most international students cannot file, so eligibility is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Interviews held on select dates in November and January
Chowan University Merit ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page says newly accepted students are automatically considered, but does not state whether international students are eligible.
Lettie Pate Whitehead ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
The program requires residence in eligible Southern states and FAFSA, but does not state a rule specifically for international students.
- Merit Scholarships (Presidential / Alumni / University / Founder's)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Music Performance ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says nothing about international students for this music scholarship.
Spirit Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This is based on residence in listed NC/VA counties (per FAFSA address), so a student living in Vietnam likely does not qualify, but the page does not address international students.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Deadlines
Typical minimum English scores
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
37 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data