
Christopher Newport University
- Public
Christopher Newport University: international tuition 31,178 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 48,116 USD, acceptance rate 86%. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 100.
Getting in. The school admits 86% of applicants (6,316 of 7,341). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–660, Math 510–630, ACT 25–30. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 71+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 48,116 USD, before any scholarship. 5 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet. According to the Common Data Set 2024-2025, 3 international students got financial aid, 4,500 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 15/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026
What is the tuition at Christopher Newport University?
International tuition is 31,178 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 48,116 USD.
What English scores does Christopher Newport University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Christopher Newport University?
The acceptance rate is 86%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- ChristopherNewportU2026Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
Bonner Service Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
International eligibility is not stated.
Deadline: Online application opens each February
Departmental ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
These are department-level awards, mostly for upper-year students or requiring the FAFSA; the page does not mention international students.
- Foundation-Funded PLP and Honors Replacement ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Honors Program ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not explicitly state international eligibility, though the international FAQ names Honors as a scholarship channel.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority Dec 15; final Feb 15
Office of Financial Aid Scholarships (mostly need-based)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
The page requires the FAFSA for need-based consideration and says nothing about international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: FAFSA priority deadline: March 1
Out-of-State Incentive ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
For out-of-state (non-resident for tuition) students; international students are not explicitly mentioned, and this type does not set institution-wide policy.
- Renewable in later years
President's Leadership Program (PLP) ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not explicitly state international eligibility, though the international FAQ names PLP as a scholarship channel.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority Dec 15; final Feb 15
- President's Leadership Program (PLP) and Honors Program merit scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Riverside Medical Group (RMG) ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
International eligibility is not stated.
- Renewable in later years
U.S. student figures2024–25Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- EssaysRequired
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyiInternational applicants must reach the minimum English scores to be admitted.Required
- InterviewRecommended
- Teacher recommendationRecommended
- SATACTOptional
- Counselor recommendationRecommended
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Decision (binding) application deadline (ED)Applicationabout31days
- Early Action (non-binding) application deadline (EA)Application+47 days
- Early Decision notification date (ED)Decision+61 days
- Early Action notification date (EA)Decision+92 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+109 days
- Scholarship notification by (ED and EA applicants)Scholarship+109 days
- Regular Decision notification date (RD)Decision+151 days
- Scholarship notification by (Regular Decision applicants) (RD)Scholarship+168 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- GPAVery important
- Class rankImportant
- SATACTImportant
- Application essayImportant
- RecommendationsImportant
- InterviewImportant
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- Talent / abilityImportant
- Character / personal qualitiesImportant
- Volunteer workImportant
- Work experienceImportant
- Level of applicant's interestImportant
- First generationConsidered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyConsidered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
Credit for exams
Up to 60 credit hours can come from AP exams; courses and minimum scores are listed in the Undergraduate Catalog.
IB credit depends only on individual exam scores; the IB Diploma itself earns no credit.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
55 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 14/10/2026How Duckling sources data