
Colgate University
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Colgate University: international tuition 76,828 USD per year, one-year total cost 100,224 USD, acceptance rate 13.9%. Need-based aid is open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, Duolingo 130.
Colgate meets 100% of demonstrated need for international students, who must file the CSS Profile, but admission is need-aware. The pages give no information on merit scholarships.
Getting in. The school admits 13.9% of applicants (2,871 of 20,682). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 710–760, Math 720–780, ACT 33–34. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 7+ or Duolingo 130+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 100,224 USD, before any scholarship. According to the Common Data Set 2024-2025, 122 international students got financial aid.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/11. You apply through QuestBridge Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Colgate University?
International tuition is 76,828 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 100,224 USD.
Does Colgate University offer scholarships for international students?
Need-based aid is open to international students. Colgate meets 100% of demonstrated need for international students, who must file the CSS Profile, but admission is need-aware. The pages give no information on merit scholarships.
What English scores does Colgate University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, Duolingo 130.
What is the acceptance rate at Colgate University?
The acceptance rate is 13.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- gufta2024Vlog
- gufta2024Vlog
- Thao Mai2022Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearNo page describes automatic merit consideration with the admission application for international students, so no conclusion can be drawn.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe page says financial need is considered for all applicants, but it only says "all applicants" without naming international students, so it is not enough to conclude for them.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesThe International Applicants page says international applicants must submit the CSS Profile by the application deadline to be considered for financial aid.
Scholarships at this school
No specific scholarships have been extracted from the official pages yet.
Financial aid dates (first year)
- 15/01Aid application deadline
- 15/01Aid application deadline
- 21/03Aid notification
- 21/03Aid notification
- 01/05Reply by
- 01/05Reply by
Forms international students file for aid
- CSS Profile
U.S. student figures2024–25Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- Teacher recommendationiTwo recommendations from core academic teachers are needed.Required
- Counselor recommendationRequired
- High-school transcriptRequired
- EssaysRequired
- SATACTOptional
- English proficiencyRequired
- InterviewiApplicants whose native language is not English are encouraged to submit an interview via InitialView or Vericant.Recommended
- PortfolioOptional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 25 United States schools admitting under 15% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Decision I application deadline (ED)Applicationabout17days
- CSS Profile deadline for Early Decision I (ED)Financial aid+17 days
- VIVA video deadline (ED)Other+17 days
- Early Decision II application deadline (ED2)Application+92 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+92 days
- VIVA video deadline (ED2)Other+92 days
- VIVA video deadline (RD)Other+92 days
- Early Decision II financial aid submission deadline (ED2)Financial aid+92 days
- Regular Decision financial aid submission deadline (RD)Financial aid+92 days
- CSS Profile deadline for Early Decision II and Regular Decision (ED2)Financial aid+99 days
- Mid-year grades deadlineDocuments+123 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankVery important
- GPAVery important
- SATACTImportant
- Application essayImportant
- RecommendationsImportant
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- Talent / abilityImportant
- Character / personal qualitiesImportant
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni relationConsidered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- InterviewNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
Credit for exams
Selected AP exams are accepted for pre-matriculation credit, but this page does not state a minimum score.
Selected IB exams are accepted for pre-matriculation credit, but this page does not state a minimum score.
Selected A-Levels are accepted for pre-matriculation credit, but this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
29 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data