
Heidelberg University
- Private
Heidelberg University: international tuition 34,183 USD per year, one-year total cost 47,648 USD, acceptance rate 85.8%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students.
Yes. International first-year students can receive the academic International Ambassador Scholarship and may apply for ISFA need-based grants. The school does not state a need-blind policy or a CSS Profile requirement.
Getting in. The school admits 85.8% of applicants. The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. The school has not published a minimum English score.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 47,648 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/6. You apply through CommonApp. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 14/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Heidelberg University?
International tuition is 34,183 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 47,648 USD.
Does Heidelberg University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Yes. International first-year students can receive the academic International Ambassador Scholarship and may apply for ISFA need-based grants. The school does not state a need-blind policy or a CSS Profile requirement.
What is the acceptance rate at Heidelberg University?
The acceptance rate is 85.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe International Ambassador Scholarship is awarded upon admission, indicating merit consideration without a separate scholarship application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages do not state whether ability to pay is considered in international admission decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe school mentions an ISFA application for need-based grants but does not say that CSS Profile or an international aid form is required.
Scholarships at this school
International Ambassador ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page13,000 – 17,000 USD/year≈ ₫339M – ₫443M
This scholarship appears on the international tuition page and is awarded based on academic records.
International Student Financial Aid (ISFA) applicationNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page10,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M
The international page says admitted students may complete ISFA to be considered for need-based grants.
Performance-based scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page lists aid for music, band, or theatre, but does not explicitly state citizenship eligibility for this scholarship.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- SATACTOptional
- EssaysOptional
How to apply
Typical minimum English scores
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Spring semester application deadlineApplicationabout17days
- Suggested enrollment fee date for fall semester enrollmentDeposit+198 days
- Fall semester application deadlineApplication+229 days
Credit for exams
First-year students may be considered for AP credit if they completed a comparable high-school course and earned an AP score of 3 or higher.
Scores that count12345IB equivalencies require a score of 4 or higher; Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge require “C” or higher.
Scores that count1234567A-Level courses with an equivalent grade of “C” or higher may receive college credit, up to 30.0 semester hours.
Scores that countfrom C or higher
AP credit by subject
18 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data