
Hood College
- Private
Hood College: international tuition 47,700 USD per year, one-year total cost 61,219 USD, acceptance rate 77.8%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Need-based aid is not. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 100.
International first-years are automatically reviewed for merit scholarships of $15,000-$30,000 per year, but Hood offers no need-based aid to non-U.S. citizens. Families should still expect to pay about $35,000-$50,000 per year.
Getting in. The school admits 77.8% of applicants. The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 61,219 USD. Take off 117,000 USD a year from 5 scholarships confirmed for international students, and about 0 USD is left.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 15/6. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Hood College?
International tuition is 47,700 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 61,219 USD.
Does Hood College offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Need-based aid is not. International first-years are automatically reviewed for merit scholarships of $15,000-$30,000 per year, but Hood offers no need-based aid to non-U.S. citizens. Families should still expect to pay about $35,000-$50,000 per year.
What English scores does Hood College require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Hood College?
The acceptance rate is 77.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Hood College2024Official
- Hood College2023Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesEvery international applicant is reviewed for a scholarship through the admission application review, so no separate scholarship application is needed.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages do not say whether admission decisions for international students take ability to pay into account, so no conclusion can be drawn.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearNo page mentions the CSS Profile or a separate international aid form. Hood only requires proof of finances for the F-1 visa, so no conclusion can be drawn.
Scholarships at this school
Achievement Award (International)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page15,000 USD/year≈ ₫391M
This is the lowest level of the dedicated international scholarship program, reviewed at admission.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall application deadline June 15; Spring November 15
Dean Scholarship (International)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page24,000 USD/year≈ ₫626M
This is one level of the dedicated international scholarship program, reviewed at admission.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall application deadline June 15; Spring November 15
Leadership Award (International)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page20,000 USD/year≈ ₫522M
This is one level of the dedicated international scholarship program, reviewed at admission.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall application deadline June 15; Spring November 15
Presidential Scholarship (International)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page28,000 USD/year≈ ₫730M
This is one level of the dedicated international scholarship program, reviewed at admission.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall application deadline June 15; Spring November 15
Trustee Scholarship (International)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page30,000 USD/year≈ ₫782M
This is one level of the dedicated international scholarship program, reviewed at admission.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall application deadline June 15; Spring November 15
Davis UWC ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Application method unclearSchool page
Only for students attending a United World College (UWC), so a Vietnamese student is eligible only if enrolled at a UWC.
Deadline: March 1 (UWC Scholar Deadline)
Dean ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page lists this first-year merit scholarship but does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese applicants, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Leadership AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page lists this first-year merit scholarship but does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese applicants, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Presidential ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page lists this first-year merit scholarship but does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese applicants, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Trustee ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page lists this first-year merit scholarship but does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese applicants, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsiThis requirement applies if you will apply for an F-1 student visa.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Spring Application DeadlineApplicationabout31days
- UWC Scholar Deadline (for Davis UWC Scholarship)Scholarship+137 days
- Fall Application DeadlineApplication+243 days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
48 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data