
Hope College
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Hope College: international tuition 41,970 USD per year, one-year total cost 55,646 USD, acceptance rate 79.2%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 110.
First-year international students are automatically considered for a merit scholarship of up to $30,000 per year, renewable for four years, with no extra forms. The pages do not describe need-based aid for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 79.2% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–660, Math 540–650, ACT 26–31. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 110+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 55,646 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2023-2024, 48 international students got financial aid, 26,708 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Hope College?
International tuition is 41,970 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 55,646 USD.
Does Hope College offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. First-year international students are automatically considered for a merit scholarship of up to $30,000 per year, renewable for four years, with no extra forms. The pages do not describe need-based aid for international students.
What English scores does Hope College require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 110.
What is the acceptance rate at Hope College?
The acceptance rate is 79.2%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Hope College2024Campus tour
- Hope College2026Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe page says international applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarship when applying, with the offer arriving alongside the admission letter, so merit consideration is automatic.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe page requires proof of financial support and says families must pay about $30,000–$35,000 a year, but does not say whether admission considers ability to pay, so this is Unclear.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?NoThe page says no additional forms are required for scholarship consideration, so no CSS Profile or separate international aid form is needed.
Scholarships at this school
International Student Scholarship (Hope International Scholarship)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page30,000 USD/year≈ ₫782M
The page explicitly says degree-seeking international students are automatically considered for this scholarship.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Complete application by March 1; later applicants considered if funding is still available
Hope International ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page lists the Hope International Scholarship under renewal criteria but gives no citizenship or visa eligibility for a Vietnamese applicant.
- Renewable in later years
Forms international students file for aid
- Institution's own aid form
U.S. student figures2023–24Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Final deadline for academic-scholarship materialsScholarshipabout109days
- Deposit deadline to guarantee enrollmentDeposit+198 days
Credit for exams
AP credit is posted after Hope receives College Board scores; this page does not state a minimum score.
IB credit is posted after Hope receives scores from the International Baccalaureate Office; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
57 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data