
Illinois Wesleyan University
- Private
Illinois Wesleyan University: international tuition 59,226 USD per year, one-year total cost 78,514 USD, acceptance rate 39.3%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 115.
IWU offers merit scholarships to international students (up to $38,000/year), considered automatically with the admission application. International students may submit the CSS PROFILE for additional financial support.
Getting in. The school admits 39.3% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550, Math 530–630, ACT 26–31. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 80+ or Duolingo 115+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 78,514 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. Health insurance is 1,710 USD a year. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 72 international students got financial aid.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 15/11. You apply through Titan Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Illinois Wesleyan University?
International tuition is 59,226 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 78,514 USD.
Does Illinois Wesleyan University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. IWU offers merit scholarships to international students (up to $38,000/year), considered automatically with the admission application. International students may submit the CSS PROFILE for additional financial support.
What English scores does Illinois Wesleyan University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 115.
What is the acceptance rate at Illinois Wesleyan University?
The acceptance rate is 39.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- The College Tour2022Campus tour
- Illinois Wesleyan University2024Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe international page says students who complete the admissions application are automatically considered for scholarships, so no separate application is needed.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages don't say whether admission decisions ignore international students' ability to pay, so this can't be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearInternational students 'may' submit the CSS PROFILE for additional aid; it is optional for that extra aid and not needed for merit, so it is not required for all aid.
Scholarships at this school
IWU-funded scholarships, loans and campus employment (via CSS PROFILE)OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The international page says international students may be eligible for this additional support.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Preferred CSS PROFILE filing date: March 1
International Merit-Based ScholarshipsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page38,000 USD/year≈ ₫991M
The international students page explicitly says this is offered to international applicants.
- Renewable in later years
Art and Design Talent ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for this art and design talent scholarship.
Director's ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for this scholarship.
Esports ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for the Esports Scholarship.
Jennings ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for the Jennings Scholarship.
Deadline: prior to April 15th
McLean County Scholarship GuaranteeIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The award requires McLean County residence or schooling and does not state international-student eligibility.
- Renewable in later years
Music Talent ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for this music-talent scholarship.
Theatre Talent ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for this theatre-talent scholarship.
Titan ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The general page doesn't mention international students for this scholarship, so it is unclear.
Financial aid dates (first year)
- 01/01Aid notification
- 01/01Aid notification
Forms international students file for aid
- CSS Profile
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyiYou must meet English proficiency through one of the methods listed by the university, including a language-waiver route or accepted test scores.Required
- Proof of fundsRequired
- Counselor recommendationOptional
- SATACTOptional
- PortfolioiA portfolio is required only if you plan to pursue the BFA in the School of Art.Required
- InterviewiAn on-campus interview applies to BA Theatre Arts applicants; other Theatre Arts pathways may have separate requirements.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 42 United States schools admitting 15–40% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 28 United States schools admitting 15–40% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Non-binding Early Action materials deadline (EA)Applicationabout31days
- Early Action decision notification (EA)Decision+61 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankVery important
- GPAVery important
- Application essayImportant
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- SATACTConsidered
- RecommendationsConsidered
- Talent / abilityConsidered
- Character / personal qualitiesConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestConsidered
- InterviewNot considered
- First generationNot considered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
Credit for exams
AP scores of 3–5 generally receive one course unit of elective credit; scores of 4–5 may also be considered for Shared Curriculum attributes or an IWU equivalent course.
Scores that count12345From Fall 2025, IB SL scores of 5–7 and HL scores of 4–7 generally receive one course unit of elective or Shared Curriculum credit.
Scores that count1234567Cambridge A-Level scores from C through A* generally receive one course unit of elective credit; AS-Level exams do not receive credit.
Scores that countfrom CIB Standard Level scores from 5 generally receive one elective or Shared Curriculum course unit; laboratory credit is not awarded.
Scores that count1234567IB Higher Level scores from 4 generally receive one elective or Shared Curriculum course unit; scores of 5–7 may be considered for an equivalent IWU course.
Scores that count1234567Cambridge A-Level scores from C generally receive one elective course unit; A*, A, or B may be considered for Shared Curriculum attributes or an equivalent IWU course.
Scores that countfrom C
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
39 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data