
Middlebury College
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Middlebury College: international tuition 72,924 USD per year, one-year total cost 97,386 USD, acceptance rate 10.8%. There is no merit scholarship. Need-based aid is open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7.
Middlebury has no merit scholarships but meets the full demonstrated need of accepted international students through grants, work, and loans; the CSS Profile is required. Need-blind admission for international students applies only to the extent resources allow.
Getting in. The school admits 10.7% of applicants (1,348 of 12,540). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 720–760, Math 725–790, ACT 33–35. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 7+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 97,386 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 2/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Middlebury College?
International tuition is 72,924 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 97,386 USD.
Does Middlebury College offer scholarships for international students?
There is no merit scholarship. Need-based aid is open to international students. Middlebury has no merit scholarships but meets the full demonstrated need of accepted international students through grants, work, and loans; the CSS Profile is required. Need-blind admission for international students applies only to the extent resources allow.
What English scores does Middlebury College require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7.
What is the acceptance rate at Middlebury College?
The acceptance rate is 10.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Tenzin Samten Trasar 2025Vlog
- S&E2025Campus tour
- Le Coin des Profs FLE2022Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe passage only says Middlebury has no merit scholarships, so it does not show whether merit is considered automatically or needs a separate application; the question does not apply.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearFor international students the college is need-blind only 'to the extent that financial resources allow', so it is not an unconditional guarantee and full need-blindness cannot be confirmed.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesAid applicants must submit the CSS Profile electronically; international applicants cannot substitute the ISFAA or a paper copy, and must also submit parent income/tax documents via IDOC.
Scholarships at this school
Endowed scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state eligible citizenships; these awards are described only as funding for part of a Middlebury Grant.
Middlebury GrantsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
This grant is exclusively for financial need, but the page does not state whether international students are eligible.
Middlebury Grants (need-based)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Deadline: CSS Profile: Nov 1, 2026 (QuestBridge), Nov 15, 2026 (ED I), Jan 3, 2027 (ED II), Feb 1, 2027 (Regular Decision)
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- InterviewiAn interview is not required; you may request an optional alumni interview after applying.Optional
- Teacher recommendationiAt least two teacher recommendations are needed.Required
- EssaysiThe main application essay is required; no supplemental essay is needed.Required
- Counselor recommendationiThe school report, counselor recommendation and transcript must come directly from your high school counselor.Required
- English proficiencyiRequired for students who do not qualify for the English proficiency exemption.Required
- SATACTNot required
- High-school transcriptiThe transcript comes directly from your high school via the counselor.Required
- Supplementary applicationNot required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 25 United States schools admitting under 15% that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Early Decision I application due (ED)Applicationin18days
- Deadline to request alumni interview, Early Decision I (ED)Other+24 days
- Financial aid application (CSS Profile) deadline, Early Decision I (ED)Financial aid+31 days
- Financial aid application (CSS Profile) deadline, Early Decision II (ED2)Financial aid+80 days
- Early Decision II application due (ED2)Application+81 days
- Regular Decision application due (RD)Application+81 days
- Deadline to request alumni interview, Early Decision II (ED2)Other+86 days
- Midyear senior grades due, Early Decision II (ED2)Documents+92 days
- Deadline to request alumni interview, Regular Decision (RD)Other+93 days
- Financial aid application (CSS Profile) deadline, Regular Decision (RD)Financial aid+109 days
- Midyear senior grades due, Regular Decision (RD)Documents+123 days
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
32 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data