
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
- Public
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology: international tuition 27,247 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 42,738 USD, acceptance rate 44.5%. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 105.
Getting in. The school admits 54.1% of applicants (600 of 1,110). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 500–650, Math 540–640, ACT 20–28. The school requires the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 105+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 42,738 USD, before any scholarship. 6 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet. According to the Common Data Set 2023-2024, 4 international students got financial aid, 1,088 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. You apply through International Online Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology?
International tuition is 27,247 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 42,738 USD.
What English scores does New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology?
The acceptance rate is 44.5%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
Competitive ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Separate application requiredSchool page
The eligibility says “non-resident student” but does not clarify whether that includes Vietnamese international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1st for best consideration
Competitive Scholarship (non-resident tuition reduction)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The retention table lists an 'International Competitive' category, but no page describes first-year international eligibility, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1 (first-time students)
Copper ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
This freshman merit scholarship does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese students, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1st for best consideration
Gold ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
This freshman merit scholarship does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese students, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1st for best consideration
International Transfer Student Scholarships (PTK, Regents, Transfer Excel, Tech Transfer)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page says international students may qualify for these transfer scholarships if they maintain F1 or J1 status, so the scholarships are open to them, not excluded.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Admitted by May 1 for Fall, November 1 for Spring
NMT freshman merit scholarships (Presidential/Gold/Silver/Copper)Not for international studentsThe school states this scholarship is not open to international students.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The policy page says first-time scholarships require U.S. citizenship or permanent residency and internationals qualify only for transfer scholarships.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1
Presidential ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
This freshman merit scholarship does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese students, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1st for best consideration
Silver ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
This freshman merit scholarship does not state whether international students, including Vietnamese students, are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: March 1st for best consideration
Financial aid dates (first year)
- 01/03Priority filing date
- 01/03Priority filing date
Forms international students file for aid
- Certification of Finances
U.S. student figures2023–24Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyiIf English is not your native language, you must submit one of the accepted English proficiency tests.Required
- High-school transcriptiTranscripts and credentials must be evaluated by WES; high school applicants request the Document-by-Document report.Required
- Proof of fundsiYou must sign the Certificate of Financial Responsibility and attach letters of financial support from family or friends.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2026
This cycle's dates have passed; the school has not posted next cycle's dates yet.
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- GPAVery important
- SATACTVery important
- Class rankConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
- Talent / abilityConsidered
- Application essayNot considered
- RecommendationsNot considered
- InterviewNot considered
- Character / personal qualitiesNot considered
- First generationNot considered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
- Volunteer workNot considered
- Work experienceNot considered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
67 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 14/10/2026How Duckling sources data