
Northern Illinois University
- Public
- Research university
Northern Illinois University: international tuition 11,010 USD per year, one-year total cost 33,872 USD, acceptance rate 69.8%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 105.
First-year international students can apply for the renewable International Freshman Merit Scholarship ($5,000–$9,000/year, GPA 3.5+) via MyScholarships after admission. The pages say nothing about need-based aid or need-blind admission for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 69.8% of applicants. The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 71+ or Duolingo 105+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 33,872 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/8. You apply through Undergraduate Admissions. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Northern Illinois University?
International tuition is 11,010 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 33,872 USD.
Does Northern Illinois University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. First-year international students can apply for the renewable International Freshman Merit Scholarship ($5,000–$9,000/year, GPA 3.5+) via MyScholarships after admission. The pages say nothing about need-based aid or need-blind admission for international students.
What English scores does Northern Illinois University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at Northern Illinois University?
The acceptance rate is 69.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Dinesh Aluru2023Vlog
- Northern Illinois University2023Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
The page lists one standard full-time undergraduate tuition rate, with no domestic/international split; some majors have higher rates.
Tuition by group
- Standard tuition11,010 USD≈ ₫287M
- Nursing (excludes pre/intended nursing majors and RN-BS)11,370 USD≈ ₫297M
- Computer Science11,970 USD≈ ₫312M
- Engineering12,210 USD≈ ₫318M
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says students can apply through MyScholarships, but it does not clearly state whether a separate application is required beyond admission, so this cannot be confirmed.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages provided say nothing about whether international admissions decisions consider ability to pay, so need-blind status cannot be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages only mention the MyScholarships application for merit scholarships; there is no information on CSS Profile or a separate need-based aid form for international students.
Scholarships at this school
International Freshman Merit ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page5,000 – 9,000 USD/year≈ ₫130M – ₫235M
Offered by International Admissions to first-year international students, so a Vietnamese applicant who meets the criteria can be considered.
- Renewable in later years
CHHS Student AmbassadorIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state citizenship or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
Deadline: 12/01/2026
Carter Opportunity ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state citizenship or international-student eligibility for this scholarship.
Deadline: 01/31/2027
Housing Scholarship (Neptune Hall)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page sits under International Admissions but does not explicitly state that this award is for international students, so eligibility is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
The de la Torre, Prieto and Tseregounis FundIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state citizenship or international-student eligibility for this fund.
Deadline: 10/26/2026
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsiStudents who need an F-1 visa submit proof of finances after the admission decision, not with the initial application.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
This cycle's dates have passed; the school has not posted next cycle's dates yet.
Credit for exams
NIU grants credit for AP scores of 3 or higher, with official scores sent from College Board.
Scores that count12345IB Higher Level exams scoring 4 or above earn credit; the Testing Services table also lists many Standard Level exams from a score of 4.
Scores that count1234567
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
69 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data