
Northern Michigan University
- Public
Northern Michigan University: international tuition 20,834 USD per year, one-year total cost 38,546 USD, acceptance rate 84%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 61, Duolingo 95.
A first-year Vietnamese undergraduate can receive the International Academic Award ($2,200/yr), awarded automatically at a 3.0 GPA, plus some NMU Foundation funds that need separate applications. The regular first-year scholarships exclude international students; need-based aid, need-blind policy and CSS Profile are unclear.
Getting in. The school admits 85.1% of applicants (9,695 of 11,399). The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 61+ or Duolingo 95+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 38,546 USD, before any scholarship. 6 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 15/4. You apply through application for admission. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Northern Michigan University?
International tuition is 20,834 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 38,546 USD.
Does Northern Michigan University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. A first-year Vietnamese undergraduate can receive the International Academic Award ($2,200/yr), awarded automatically at a 3.0 GPA, plus some NMU Foundation funds that need separate applications. The regular first-year scholarships exclude international students; need-based aid, need-blind policy and CSS Profile are unclear.
What English scores does Northern Michigan University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 61, Duolingo 95.
What is the acceptance rate at Northern Michigan University?
The acceptance rate is 84%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Country or region-specific scholarships
NMU Canadian Bridge AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page5,600 USD/year≈ ₫146M
The Canadian Bridge Award is for international students from Canada, so it is open to a group of international students and does not exclude them.
- Renewable in later years
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- NorthernMichiganU2024Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
This is the full-year rate for nonresident (non-Michigan) undergraduates in the lower division; it includes the university fee and a laptop. The page does not use the word 'international'.
Tuition by group
- Annual Nonresident Undergraduate - Lower Division20,834 USD≈ ₫543M
- Annual Nonresident Undergraduate - Upper Division21,806 USD≈ ₫568M
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe International Academic Award is granted automatically upon admission based on a GPA of 3.0 or higher, with no separate application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages say nothing about whether admission decisions consider international students' ability to pay, so this cannot be concluded.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages do not mention the CSS Profile or a separate international aid form. Only the NMU Foundation scholarships have their own applications, so this is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
Clarice Salli Stafford Endowed ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
An NMU Foundation fund for international students with a 3.0 GPA and no need requirement; any grade level may be considered.
Deadline: Applications are due during the Winter semester; check for exact deadlines
Earl and Miriam Hilton Memorial ScholarshipNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
A need-based fund only for international students studying at NMU, so a Vietnamese student meets the nationality requirement.
Johansen ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Prefers international students but requires at least one academic year at NMU, so it is not available to first-year freshmen.
NMU Foundation International Student ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: Awards vary between several hundred and several thousand dollars per student, per semester (applies to NMU Foundation international scholarships)
A fund for international students with no financial need requirement and a 2.50 GPA minimum, so a Vietnamese student can be considered.
Deadline: Applications are due during the Winter semester; check for exact deadlines
NMU International Academic AwardMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page2,200 USD/year≈ ₫57.3M
Open to new undergraduate international students and awarded automatically at a 3.0 GPA, so a Vietnamese student qualifies if the GPA is met.
- Renewable in later years
Weting International Student FundOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
A fund for international students who are admitted or enrolled; students may apply or be nominated.
NMU Canadian Bridge AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The Canadian Bridge Award is for international students from Canada, so it is open to a group of international students and does not exclude them.
- Renewable in later years
NMU International Partner AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Only for international students from NMU-approved partner institutions; it is unclear whether a given Vietnamese student's school is on the list.
- Renewable in later years
NMU Tuition Advantage ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Application method unclearSchool page
The page requires the Michigan Achievement Scholarship and a Federal Pell Grant but does not state whether international students qualify.
Superior Exchange ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The Superior Exchange Scholarship is for international students from NMU-approved exchange institutions, so it does not exclude international students.
- First year only
Superior Experience ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The Superior Experience Scholarship is for international students in an exchange program on a J-1 visa, so it does not exclude international students.
- First year only
Superior Study Abroad ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The Superior Study Abroad Scholarship is for non-degree undergraduate international students, so it does not exclude international students.
- First year only
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
English
Application requirements
- Proof of fundsiAfter admission, international students must submit the Certificate of Finances; no I-20 is issued until adequate funds are guaranteed.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Suggested application deadline, Fall semester (day/month only, year not stated)Applicationabout182days
- Suggested application deadline for Fall semester – international students (ROLLING)Application+182 days
- Final application deadline, Fall semester (day/month only, year not stated)Application+229 days
- Final application deadline for Fall semester – international students (ROLLING)Application+229 days
Admission odds in numbers
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
37 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data