
Oglethorpe University
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Oglethorpe University: international tuition 47,590 USD per year, one-year total cost 60,581 USD, acceptance rate 88.5%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 105.
Yes. A Vietnamese first-year applicant applying as an international student is automatically considered for merit aid and may request additional need-based aid after admission. The page does not state whether Oglethorpe is need-blind for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 88.5% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–660, Math 540–650, ACT 22–31. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 105+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 60,581 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/5. You apply through online application for admission. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Oglethorpe University?
International tuition is 47,590 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 60,581 USD.
Does Oglethorpe University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Yes. A Vietnamese first-year applicant applying as an international student is automatically considered for merit aid and may request additional need-based aid after admission. The page does not state whether Oglethorpe is need-blind for international students.
What English scores does Oglethorpe University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at Oglethorpe University?
The acceptance rate is 88.5%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: the CSS Profile (or the school's own financial aid form), sent with your application; no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- University Walk Tour2023Campus tour
- Rolling With Nick2023Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesInternational students are automatically evaluated for merit awards, with no separate merit application stated.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages do not state whether ability to pay is considered in admission decisions for international students.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesAdmitted international students must complete the International Student Financial Aid Form to request additional need-based aid.
Scholarships at this school
International Merit AwardsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page21,000 USD/year≈ ₫548M
International students are automatically evaluated for merit awards up to $21,000.
Scholarship Weekend Full-Tuition ScholarshipsFull ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Application method unclearSchool pageFull ride
International first-year applicants may qualify if they submit all required documents by the stated deadline.
Deadline: Nov. 15
International Baccalaureate Diploma ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The text awards the scholarship to students who complete the IB Diploma Programme, but it does not explicitly identify them as international students.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Action I deadline (EA)Applicationabout17days
- Early Action II deadline (EA)Application+47 days
- Fall semester priority application deadline (ROLLING)Application+198 days
Credit for exams
AP scores of 4 or higher may be evaluated for credit; the maximum AP award is 32 credit hours.
Scores that count12345
Programs
Outcomes
Top employers
- Accenture
- Actor’s Express
- Apollo Behavior Services
- Bank of America
- Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
- Cobb Judicial Circuit District Attorney
- Common Power
- Devereux Advanced Behavioral Health
- Encompass Health
- Georgia Archives
- Georgia Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Handshake
- Inspire Brands
- Mercedes-Benz
- Northside Hospital
- Peachtree Spine Physicians
- Porsche Cars North America
- Soccer Down Here
- Thrasher Law
- UPS (United Parcel Service)
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data