
Pennsylvania Western University
- Public
Pennsylvania Western University: international tuition 16,054 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 31,534 USD, acceptance rate 94.3%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 61, Duolingo 90.
PennWest lets international first-year students seek need-based scholarships and an academic scholarship (min 2.5 GPA, tuition reduced to the non-resident PA rate). Automatic consideration, need-blind status and CSS Profile are not stated.
Getting in. The school admits 94.3% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 480–580, Math 460–560, ACT 17–25. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 5.5+, TOEFL iBT 61+ or Duolingo 90+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 31,534 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/6. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Pennsylvania Western University?
International tuition is 16,054 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 31,534 USD.
Does Pennsylvania Western University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. PennWest lets international first-year students seek need-based scholarships and an academic scholarship (min 2.5 GPA, tuition reduced to the non-resident PA rate). Automatic consideration, need-blind status and CSS Profile are not stated.
What English scores does Pennsylvania Western University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 61, Duolingo 90.
What is the acceptance rate at Pennsylvania Western University?
The acceptance rate is 94.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe pages do not say whether the academic scholarship is considered automatically with the application or needs a separate one, so it is unclear.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages say nothing about whether admission decisions consider international students' ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages do not mention the CSS Profile or any separate international aid form, so it is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
International undergraduate academic scholarship (non-resident rate)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: Reduces tuition to the same rate non-resident Pennsylvanians pay
It appears in the FAQ on financial aid for international students, so international students qualify if they meet the GPA requirement.
- Renewable in later years
Need-based scholarships for international first-year studentsNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
The international admissions page explicitly says international first-year students are eligible.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Application deadline for Spring Semester start (November 1)Applicationabout17days
- Housing application opensOther+17 days
- Housing application opensOther+34 days
- Nursing (BSN) priority deadline (ROLLING)Other+61 days
- New student orientation (NSO) sign-ups beginOrientation+109 days
- National decision-making deadline (advanced tuition deposit due)Deposit+198 days
- Application deadline for Fall Semester start (June 1)Application+229 days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
35 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data