
Rochester Institute of Technology
- Private
- Research university
Rochester Institute of Technology: international tuition 59,274 USD per year, one-year total cost 74,626 USD, acceptance rate 66.9%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 120.
Vietnamese first-year undergraduates are considered automatically for RIT merit scholarships upon applying. The pages do not clarify need-based aid for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 66.9% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 650–720, Math 650–740, ACT 29–33. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 120+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 74,626 USD, before any scholarship. 7 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at Rochester Institute of Technology?
International tuition is 59,274 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 74,626 USD.
Does Rochester Institute of Technology offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Vietnamese first-year undergraduates are considered automatically for RIT merit scholarships upon applying. The pages do not clarify need-based aid for international students.
What English scores does Rochester Institute of Technology require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 120.
What is the acceptance rate at Rochester Institute of Technology?
The acceptance rate is 66.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Rochester Institute of Technology2025Campus tour
- Chrisryle Marie2023Campus tour
- RIT Admissions2026Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe international page says all applicants are considered for merit just by applying, and the Merit page confirms no separate application is needed.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearNo page states whether admission decisions ignore international applicants' ability to pay, so this cannot be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearRIT says it does not use the CSS Profile and only requires the FAFSA for need-based aid. Nothing is said about a separate international aid form, so it is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
RIT Alumni Referral AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Requires a referral from an RIT alumnus/alumna; the page does not mention international students, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Referral forms due by the application deadline for the student's admission plan
RIT Esports ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state citizenship eligibility, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Nov 1 (ED I), Nov 16 (ED II), Dec 1 (EA), Jan 15 (RD)
RIT High School AwardsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Requires nomination by the high school in junior year; the page does not mention international students, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
RIT IB Diploma ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not mention international students explicitly, though it targets IB diploma holders.
- Renewable in later years
RIT Performing Arts ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state citizenship eligibility, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall entry: February 1 / March 1; Spring entry: November 1
RIT Project Lead the Way ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Requires two or more PLTW courses; the page does not mention international students, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Apply for admission by January 15
- RIT first-year merit-based scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
RIT/FIRST ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
For students who took part in a high school FIRST team; the page does not mention international students, so it is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Apply for admission by January 15
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- SATACTOptional
- English proficiencyRequired
- Supplementary applicationiRIT does not require a general supplemental essay, except for Honors Program or Individualized Program BS applicants.Not required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Early Decision I application deadline (ED)Applicationin17days
- Early Action application deadline (EA)Application+17 days
- Early Decision II application deadline (ED2)Application+78 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+92 days
- Early Decision I deposit deadline (ED)Deposit+92 days
- Early Decision II deposit deadline (ED2)Deposit+123 days
- Early Action deposit deadline (EA)Deposit+198 days
- Regular Decision deposit deadline (RD)Deposit+198 days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
72 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 14/10/2026How Duckling sources data