
Samford University
- Private
Samford University: international tuition 42,590 USD per year, one-year total cost 59,170 USD, acceptance rate 82.4%. Need-based aid is open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Duolingo 120.
A Vietnamese applicant may seek institutional need-based aid through the CSS Profile if ineligible for FAFSA. These pages do not explicitly confirm that merit scholarships are available to, or automatically considered for, international students.
Getting in. The school admits 82.4% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–640, Math 520–610, ACT 22–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 90+ or Duolingo 120+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 59,170 USD, before any scholarship. 3 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at Samford University?
International tuition is 42,590 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 59,170 USD.
Does Samford University offer scholarships for international students?
Need-based aid is open to international students. A Vietnamese applicant may seek institutional need-based aid through the CSS Profile if ineligible for FAFSA. These pages do not explicitly confirm that merit scholarships are available to, or automatically considered for, international students.
What English scores does Samford University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Duolingo 120.
What is the acceptance rate at Samford University?
The acceptance rate is 82.4%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Bright & Gray Creative2023Vlog
- TAB Media Group2026Official
- Samford University2023Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 16/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says admitted students receive merit consideration, but it does not confirm that this process applies to international students.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearNo information states that Samford admission decisions disregard an international student's ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearSamford says international students may submit the CSS Profile for institutional need-based consideration, but does not say it is mandatory.
Scholarships at this school
Crosland ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether the Crosland Scholarship is open to international students.
- Renewable in later years
Davis ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state whether the Davis Scholarship is open to international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: December 1 of senior year
Marion ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page does not state whether the Marion Scholarship is open to international students.
- Renewable in later years
Marvin Mann Academic Excellence ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state whether this National Merit scholarship is open to international students.
- Renewable in later years
Marvin Mann GrantIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
This grant says recipients are selected through FAFSA, but the page does not explicitly confirm CSS Profile eligibility for this specific grant.
- Renewable in later years
Marvin Mann Ministry ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state whether the Ministry Scholarship is open to international students.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptiThe transcript must be translated and notarized; if courses were not taught in English, a WES, TEC or ECE evaluation may also be needed.Required
- EssaysiA personal essay is on the international checklist; Common App applicants do not need to submit an additional essay.Required
- SATACTiThe international checklist lists ACT/SAT scores but allows students to request a waiver.Optional
- Proof of fundsiProof of financial support is required, such as a bank statement with a minimum balance of 50,260 USD.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Early Action application deadline (non-binding) (EA)Applicationin17days
- Enrollment/housing deposit deadline (submit before May 1)Deposit+198 days
Credit for exams
Samford says AP credit is awarded at the minimum exam score, but this page does not state the score or specific course equivalency.
Samford says IB credit is awarded at the minimum exam score, but this page does not state the score or specific course equivalency.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
46 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data