
Shepherd University
- Public
Shepherd University: international tuition 18,722 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 29,627 USD, acceptance rate 96.8%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105.
A Vietnamese first-year student may pursue merit-based scholarships at Shepherd, including the listed freshmen awards if eligible. The page does not confirm need-based aid, need-blind admission, or CSS Profile/international-aid-form requirements.
Getting in. The school admits 96.8% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 468–600, Math 410–540, ACT 19–24. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+ or Duolingo 105+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 29,627 USD, before any scholarship. 3 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/7. You apply through online international application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Shepherd University?
International tuition is 18,722 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 29,627 USD.
Does Shepherd University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. A Vietnamese first-year student may pursue merit-based scholarships at Shepherd, including the listed freshmen awards if eligible. The page does not confirm need-based aid, need-blind admission, or CSS Profile/international-aid-form requirements.
What English scores does Shepherd University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at Shepherd University?
The acceptance rate is 96.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
This is the school's estimated tuition plus fees for international undergraduates (charged at the non-resident rate), from a table the school labels 2024-2025.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says freshmen are eligible for academic scholarships, but does not say international students are automatically considered with admission.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe page does not state whether ability to pay is considered in international admission decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe page only directs new students to contact the Office of International Affairs and does not name CSS Profile or a specific international aid form.
Scholarships at this school
Dean’s ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page says international students may be eligible for some merit-based scholarships, but it does not specifically identify the Dean’s Scholarship as one of them.
- Renewable in later years
Director’s ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page says international students may be eligible for some merit-based scholarships, but it does not specifically identify the Director’s Scholarship as one of them.
- Renewable in later years
NSF S-STEM ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says the scholarship is both merit- and need-based but gives no citizenship or international-status eligibility.
President’s ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page says international students may be eligible for some merit-based scholarships, but it does not specifically identify the President’s Scholarship as one of them.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptiOfficial high school transcripts are required; non-English ones need a certified translation.Required
- Proof of fundsiProof of funds for one academic year is needed to receive the I-20.Required
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- International application deadline for SpringApplicationabout17days
- New student scholarship priority deadlineScholarship+109 days
- International application deadline for FallApplication+259 days
Credit for exams
Only IB Higher Level exams scoring 5, 6 or 7 earn credit; Standard Level exams do not.
Scores that count1234567The university awards AP credit, but this page does not state a specific minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
39 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data