
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
- Public
- Research university
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale: international tuition 13,334 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 28,329 USD, acceptance rate 86.9%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 68, Duolingo 95.
International freshmen can qualify for the merit-based High Achievers tuition rate (in-state level) with a 3.5 GPA, ACT 26 or SAT 1240. The pages do not clearly address need-based aid, need-blind admission or CSS Profile for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 94.4% of applicants (10,473 of 11,089). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 470–590, Math 430–570, ACT 18–25. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 68+ or Duolingo 95+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 28,329 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 44 international students got financial aid, 19,488 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/12. You apply through Online Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale?
International tuition is 13,334 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 28,329 USD.
Does Southern Illinois University-Carbondale offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. International freshmen can qualify for the merit-based High Achievers tuition rate (in-state level) with a 3.5 GPA, ACT 26 or SAT 1240. The pages do not clearly address need-based aid, need-blind admission or CSS Profile for international students.
What English scores does Southern Illinois University-Carbondale require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 68, Duolingo 95.
What is the acceptance rate at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale?
The acceptance rate is 86.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- WSIU TV2024Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe pages do not say whether merit is considered automatically with the admission application or needs a separate form. The High Achievers rate only lists GPA/ACT/SAT criteria.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearNo page says whether international admission does or does not consider ability to pay. The school requires a financial statement after admission, but that is not enough to conclude need-blind status.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages do not mention a CSS Profile or a separate international aid form for first-year students. Only individual scholarships have their own applications, so this is not enough to conclude.
Scholarships at this school
High Achievers Alternate Tuition RateMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: In-state tuition rate for international students (cost page: $12,874 tuition/fees vs $24,439 international rate)
The page explicitly states it is for international undergraduates meeting the GPA/ACT/SAT minimums.
Augusta & Jimmy Auerbach Endowed Memorial ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
Only for current students, so not applicable to incoming freshmen; international status is not stated explicitly.
Deadline: April 1 - July 31 every year
Mary Wakeland ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Listed on the Center for International Education page, but eligibility for international students is not stated explicitly.
Deadline: April 15 - June 1, via Saluki Scholarship Portal
Tuition Awards (CIE)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Posted on the CIE page but the audience and criteria are not stated, so it is unclear.
Deadline: Monday after Spring Break through the Friday before the summer term begins
Undergraduate Student-to-Student (STS) GrantsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Requires at least one completed semester at SIU, so not available to new freshmen.
Deadline: Applications begin at the beginning of each semester
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- EssaysNot required
- Counselor recommendationNot required
- Teacher recommendationNot required
- SATACTNot required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- First-year priority review deadlineApplicationabout47days
- Deadline for most campus-based scholarshipsScholarship+109 days
- Case-by-case review thresholdOther+198 days
Admission odds in numbers
Credit for exams
SIU considers AP credit from a score of 3; AP examinations can yield up to 30 total credit hours.
Scores that count12345SIU considers IB credit for Higher Level exams scoring at least 5; some subjects require 6 or 7 under the equivalency chart.
Scores that count1234567
AP credit by subject
42 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data