
St Olaf College
- Private
- Liberal arts college
St Olaf College: international tuition 65,700 USD per year, one-year total cost 68,100 USD, acceptance rate 48.3%. Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Duolingo 120.
St. Olaf offers international first-years both need-based aid and merit scholarships; merit is considered automatically and need-based aid requires the CSS Profile or ISFAA. Whether admission is need-blind for internationals is not stated.
Getting in. The school admits 48.3% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 660–740, Math 640–730, ACT 28–32. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 90+ or Duolingo 120+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 68,100 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/11. You apply through The Common Application or the Coalition Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 13/10/2026
What is the tuition at St Olaf College?
International tuition is 65,700 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 68,100 USD.
Does St Olaf College offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships and need-based aid are open to international students. St. Olaf offers international first-years both need-based aid and merit scholarships; merit is considered automatically and need-based aid requires the CSS Profile or ISFAA. Whether admission is need-blind for internationals is not stated.
What English scores does St Olaf College require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Duolingo 120.
What is the acceptance rate at St Olaf College?
The acceptance rate is 48.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Rachel Du Four2023Vlog
- MIAU Family2023Vlog
- MIAU Family2023Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says students are automatically considered for international scholarships, but it also says applicants may apply for merit scholarships, so it is unclear that merit review needs no separate application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages do not say whether admission decisions ignore international students' ability to pay, so this can't be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesTo apply for need-based aid, international students must submit either the CSS Profile or the International Student Application for Financial Assistance (ISFAA).
Scholarships at this school
International Student GrantNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: Up to 100% of tuition combined with merit (non-UWC students)
This is a grant specifically for international students, based on financial need and renewed with satisfactory progress.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Nov 1 (ED1/EA); Jan 15 (ED2/RD)
St. Olaf international scholarships (institutional merit + need-based grants)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page5,000 – 81,000 USD≈ ₫130M – ₫2.11B
The international student page states degree-seeking students are automatically considered for these scholarships.
Academic scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page says all students are considered but does not mention international students, so it is unclear.
Davis Foundation funding (United World College graduates)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
Applies only to United World College attendees; not applicable to Vietnamese students who did not attend a UWC.
Fine Arts ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.TalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page only says a separate application is needed and does not address international eligibility.
Service scholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page says all students are considered but does not mention international students, so it is unclear.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- Teacher recommendationRequired
- High-school transcriptRequired
- InterviewiThe admissions interview is listed among additional materials that are not required.Optional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Decision 1 application deadline (ED)Applicationabout17days
- Early Action application deadline (EA)Application+17 days
- Early Decision 2 application deadline (ED2)Application+92 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+92 days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
41 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 14/10/2026How Duckling sources data