
State University of New York at Oswego
- Public
State University of New York at Oswego: international tuition 17,680 USD per year, one-year total cost 38,127 USD, acceptance rate 80.6%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71.
Yes: SUNY Oswego explicitly states that merit-based scholarships are available for qualified international students. However, need-based aid, automatic merit consideration, and any separate international aid form remain unclear.
Getting in. The school admits 80.6% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 530–630, Math 540–640, ACT 23–29. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+ or TOEFL iBT 71+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 38,127 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/12. You apply through SUNY Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at State University of New York at Oswego?
International tuition is 17,680 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 38,127 USD.
Does State University of New York at Oswego offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes: SUNY Oswego explicitly states that merit-based scholarships are available for qualified international students. However, need-based aid, automatic merit consideration, and any separate international aid form remain unclear.
What English scores does State University of New York at Oswego require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71.
What is the acceptance rate at State University of New York at Oswego?
The acceptance rate is 80.6%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- 메리나 Merina2026Vlog
- SUNY Oswego2026Campus tour
- db productions2023Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
International students pay the out-of-state tuition rate.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe scholarship page says applicants are considered for institutional scholarships, but it does not confirm that this automatic process applies specifically to international students.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThere is no information stating that admission decisions for international applicants disregard ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThere is no information requiring a CSS Profile or an international aid form for financial aid.
Scholarships at this school
Merit-based scholarships for qualified international studentsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The international admissions page confirms merit-based scholarships for qualified international students.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Teacher recommendationRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Early Action (EA)Applicationabout47days
- Priority financial aid deadlineFinancial aid+137 days
Credit for exams
Oswego recognizes AP for college-credit consideration, but this page does not state a minimum AP score.
Oswego recognizes IB for college-credit consideration, but this page does not state a minimum IB score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
54 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data