
State University of New York at Plattsburgh
- Public
State University of New York at Plattsburgh: international tuition 18,945 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 38,154 USD, acceptance rate 78.4%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 46, Duolingo 91.
SUNY Plattsburgh gives international students merit scholarships averaging about $11k per year, renewable and awarded with admission without a separate application. Need-based aid for international students is not stated.
Getting in. The school admits 78.4% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 540–640, Math 540–610, ACT 22–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 5.5+, TOEFL iBT 46+ or Duolingo 91+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 38,154 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/12. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 13/10/2026
What is the tuition at State University of New York at Plattsburgh?
International tuition is 18,945 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 38,154 USD.
Does State University of New York at Plattsburgh offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. SUNY Plattsburgh gives international students merit scholarships averaging about $11k per year, renewable and awarded with admission without a separate application. Need-based aid for international students is not stated.
What English scores does State University of New York at Plattsburgh require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 46, Duolingo 91.
What is the acceptance rate at State University of New York at Plattsburgh?
The acceptance rate is 78.4%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe page says there is no separate scholarship application and the award is communicated with the admission decision, so merit is considered automatically with the application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages say nothing about a need-blind policy. Proof of funds is required before an I-20 is issued, but that is not a statement about admission decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages mention no CSS Profile or separate international aid form; they only say no separate scholarship application exists, which is not enough to conclude.
Scholarships at this school
On-campus housing grants for international studentsOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page says housing grants help lower costs for international students, but gives no amount or conditions.
SUNY Plattsburgh International Student Scholarship (merit award package)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: $11k average renewable scholarship award
The page states every international student receives a scholarship renewable annually, so they are eligible.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Early applicants get priority consideration
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptiTranscripts must be evaluated for equivalency by an official organization.Required
- SATACTOptional
- Proof of fundsiFinancial proof documents are needed before the school can issue the Form I-20.Required
- EssaysiA personal essay in English of at least 250 words, answering the school's listed questions.Required
- English proficiencyRequired
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Recommended application deadline for spring semesterApplicationabout17days
- Admissions deposit deadline (spring)Deposit+47 days
- Recommended application deadline for fall semesterApplication+47 days
- Admissions deposit deadline (fall)Deposit+198 days
Credit for exams
An AP score of 3 or higher qualifies for college credit.
Scores that count12345An IB Higher Level score of 4 or higher qualifies for college credit.
Scores that count1234567An AP exam score of 3 or higher makes you eligible for college credit at the university.
Scores that count12345An IB Higher Level exam score of 4 or higher makes you eligible for college credit at the university.
Scores that count1234567
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 13/10/2026How Duckling sources data