
Towson University
- Public
Towson University: international tuition 33,198 USD per year, one-year total cost 57,025 USD, acceptance rate 82%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Need-based aid is not. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 70, Duolingo 105.
A Vietnamese first-year applicant may be considered for TU merit-based scholarships without a separate application. TU does not provide direct need-based aid to international students.
Getting in. The school admits 82% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 490–635, Math 460–600, ACT 19–27. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 70+ or Duolingo 105+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 57,025 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. For the I-20, the school needs proof of 57,025 USD. Health insurance is 2,997 USD a year.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at Towson University?
International tuition is 33,198 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 57,025 USD.
Does Towson University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Need-based aid is not. A Vietnamese first-year applicant may be considered for TU merit-based scholarships without a separate application. TU does not provide direct need-based aid to international students.
What English scores does Towson University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 70, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at Towson University?
The acceptance rate is 82%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Lonely Star2026Vlog
- Lonely Star2025Vlog
- Mine (formerly Fizz)2024Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
This figure bundles out-of-state tuition, mandatory university fees and a $250 annual international student fee for the 9-month year (12-15 units).
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 16/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesMerit scholarships for new international students do not require a separate application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages do not state whether TU uses need-blind admission for international students.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe provided pages do not mention a CSS Profile or a separate international financial-aid form.
Scholarships at this school
Merit-based scholarships for new international freshmenMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
TU explicitly states that merit-based scholarships are available to new international students, including freshmen.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Freshman Fall Early Action / Honors College application deadline (EA)Applicationin17days
- Freshman Fall Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+109 days
- Deadline for international students to be considered for merit-based scholarshipScholarship+109 days
- Fall $200 nonrefundable Enrollment Deposit deadlineDeposit+198 days
- Fall Housing Application and $350 nonrefundable Housing Deposit deadlineDeposit+201 days
- Fall housing application and nonrefundable housing deposit deadlineOther+201 days
- International freshman application deadline (Fall)Application+229 days
- Spring freshman application deadlineApplication+382 days
Credit for exams
Towson grants credit for qualifying AP scores, but this page does not state the specific score required.
Towson grants credit for qualifying IB scores, but this page does not state the specific score required.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
69 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data