
University of California-Berkeley
- Public
- Research university
University of California-Berkeley: international tuition 50,547 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 79,819 USD, acceptance rate 11%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Duolingo 115.
First-year international students can't get Berkeley's regular institutional aid, but are automatically considered for the Regents' & Chancellor's Scholarship (achievement-based) and possibly the need-based International Leaders Scholarship. The Africa-focused and Robinson awards don't clearly cover Vietnam.
Getting in. The school admits 15.3% of applicants (12,048 of 78,924). The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 90+ or Duolingo 115+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 79,819 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of California-Berkeley?
International tuition is 50,547 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 79,819 USD.
Does University of California-Berkeley offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. First-year international students can't get Berkeley's regular institutional aid, but are automatically considered for the Regents' & Chancellor's Scholarship (achievement-based) and possibly the need-based International Leaders Scholarship. The Africa-focused and Robinson awards don't clearly cover Vietnam.
What English scores does University of California-Berkeley require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, Duolingo 115.
What is the acceptance rate at University of California-Berkeley?
The acceptance rate is 11%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Country or region-specific scholarships
Robinson International Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: Need-based scholarship for up to four years plus Regents' & Chancellor's benefits (amount not stated)
For refugees/stateless persons or secondary graduates from Sub-Saharan Africa and UN-defined developing nations; Vietnam isn't named, so eligibility is unclear.
Swaniker Scholars Program at UC BerkeleyIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: Need-based scholarship covering up to the full cost of attendance for four years
The Swaniker program is for students from across Africa and is listed on the page of scholarships for international students, so it does not exclude international students.
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Singh in USA2026Vlog
- Alena Yee2025Vlog
- irene 🍡2025Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe international-student page says no separate application is needed and all are automatically considered, including for Regents' & Chancellor's, which is an achievement-based award.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages say nothing about whether admission decisions ignore international applicants' ability to pay, so no conclusion can be drawn.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages mention only FAFSA/CADAA (for citizens/residents) and nothing on CSS Profile or an international aid form. They only say international scholarships need no separate application.
Scholarships at this school
International Leaders Scholarship at UC Berkeley ProgramNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: Need-based financial assistance for up to four years (amount not stated)
Open to international students generally, with only a priority for Peruvian residents, so Vietnamese students can still be considered.
Regents' & Chancellor's ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: Monetary award (amount not stated)
The page states that first-year international students are automatically considered for this scholarship.
Berkeley Undergraduate ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page lists criteria for California residents and AB540 students but never explicitly excludes international students, so no conclusion can be drawn about them.
- Renewable in later years
Robinson International Scholars ProgramIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
For refugees/stateless persons or secondary graduates from Sub-Saharan Africa and UN-defined developing nations; Vietnam isn't named, so eligibility is unclear.
Swaniker Scholars Program at UC BerkeleyIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Application method unclearSchool page
The Swaniker program is for students from across Africa and is listed on the page of scholarships for international students, so it does not exclude international students.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyiEnglish proficiency must be shown (by a test or another accepted route) no later than January 31.Required
- InterviewiThere is no in-person interview; international applicants may voluntarily submit InitialView materials, which cannot replace a required English test score.Optional
- Proof of fundsiThis applies to admitted international students: a sponsor's guarantee covering the first year is needed so the school can issue the visa document.Required
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 25 United States schools admitting under 15% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 14 United States schools admitting under 15% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Optional InitialView materials deadlineDocumentsabout46days
- English proficiency completion deadlineDocuments+108 days
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
37 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: one of the 50 U.S. schools with the most international undergraduates (College Scorecard). Source
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data