
University of Connecticut
- Public
- Research university
University of Connecticut: international tuition 17,010 USD per year, one-year total cost 70,649 USD, acceptance rate 52.4%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110.
Vietnamese students can be considered for UConn merit scholarships through the three Global awards reserved for international applicants. The provided pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind admission, or CSS Profile requirements for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 52.4% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 610–710, Math 600–730, ACT 28–33. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+ or Duolingo 110+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 70,649 USD, before any scholarship. 3 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. For the I-20, the school needs proof of 70,649 USD.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/11. You apply through Common Application or Coalition Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Connecticut?
International tuition is 17,010 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 70,649 USD.
Does University of Connecticut offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Vietnamese students can be considered for UConn merit scholarships through the three Global awards reserved for international applicants. The provided pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind admission, or CSS Profile requirements for international students.
What English scores does University of Connecticut require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Connecticut?
The acceptance rate is 52.4%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Yudi J2024Vlog
- Erica Yirenkyi2023Vlog
- UCTV2023Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Tuition by group
- Bachelor of General Studies (BGS)17,010 USD≈ ₫444M
- All Undergraduate Programs except BGS: (B.A./B.S./B.S.E., BFA)39,678 USD≈ ₫1.03B
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says first-year applicants are automatically considered for most scholarships, but that sentence doesn't mention international students and the Global awards aren't explicitly described as automatic, so Unclear.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearNone of the provided pages say whether admission decisions ignore international applicants' ability to pay, so need-blind status cannot be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages don't mention CSS Profile or any separate international aid form (only FAFSA for citizens/eligible non-citizens), so this requirement is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
Global Distinction AwardMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: Fixed amount determined on a yearly basis (not stated)
The award is dedicated to international applicants, so Vietnamese students are eligible for consideration.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Global Excellence AwardMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: Fixed amount determined on a yearly basis (not stated)
The award is dedicated to international applicants, so Vietnamese students are eligible for consideration.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Global Leader AwardMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: Fixed amount determined on a yearly basis (not stated)
The award is dedicated to international applicants, so Vietnamese students are eligible for consideration.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Academic Excellence ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only says in-state and out-of-state applicants and does not state whether international students are included.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Day of Pride ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page only restricts the Day of Pride Scholarship to Connecticut residents at Storrs and never mentions international students, so no direct conclusion is possible.
Deadline: Admission application by November 1; Day of Pride supplemental application by November 8
Husky Achievement AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only says in-state and out-of-state applicants and does not mention international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Leadership ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only says in-state and out-of-state applicants and does not mention international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Nutmeg ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page only restricts the Nutmeg Scholarship to Connecticut residents at Storrs and never mentions international students, so no direct conclusion about them is possible.
Deadline: Admission application by November 1; Nutmeg supplemental application by November 8
President-to-President ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page only describes this scholarship for Connecticut community college students in the GAP program and says nothing about international students.
- Renewable in later years
Presidential Scholars Award for Valedictorians and SalutatoriansIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page only says this award is for Connecticut residents and does not mention international students, so no direct conclusion can be drawn.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Regional Student Success AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only restricts this award to Connecticut residents at regional campuses and does not mention international students, so no direct conclusion can be drawn.
- Renewable in later years
STEM ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only says in-state and out-of-state applicants and does not mention international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
Stamps ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Full ride / hybridFull ride / hybridFull-ride or combined criteria (achievement and need); usually very competitive.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says 'Available to All Applicants' without naming international students, so eligibility for Vietnamese students is unclear.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Admission application and documents by November 1; supplemental application by November 8
UConn AwardIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page only says in-state and out-of-state applicants and does not mention international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Priority consideration for applications completed by December 1
University GrantIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page only says the grant is for full-time first-degree undergraduates and ties it to the FAFSA deadline, without mentioning international students, so eligibility is unclear.
Deadline: February 15 (on-time FAFSA deadline)
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- EssaysiThe personal essay is required and should be 250–650 words.Required
- High-school transcriptiOfficial secondary school transcripts must be sent directly from the school to UConn.Required
- SATACTiSAT/ACT scores are optional.Optional
- English proficiencyiInternational applicants whose native language is not English must submit an English test unless waived.Required
- Teacher recommendationiTwo recommendation letters are optional but preferred; the page does not specify whether they come from teachers or counselors.Optional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Early Decision application deadline (Fall 2027) (ED)Applicationin17days
- Application deadline for Special Programs in Medicine, Dental Medicine, and LawApplication+17 days
- Application deadline for Special Programs in Medicine, Dental Medicine and Law (Fall 2027) (RD)Application+17 days
- Priority deadline for merit and Honors consideration (Fall 2027) (RD)Scholarship+47 days
- Priority deadline for merit scholarship and Honors considerationScholarship+47 days
- Storrs campus application deadline (Fall 2027) (RD)Application+92 days
- Admission decision notifications begin (Dec 1 priority and Jan 15 Storrs deadlines) (RD)Decision+137 days
- Regional campus application deadline (Fall 2027) (ROLLING)Application+198 days
- Enrollment deposit deadline for Fall Regular Decision admits (RD)Deposit+198 days
- Enrollment deposit deadlineDeposit+198 days
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: one of the 50 U.S. schools with the most international undergraduates (College Scorecard). Source
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data