
University of Detroit Mercy
- Private
University of Detroit Mercy: international tuition 32,946 USD per year, one-year total cost 42,211 USD, acceptance rate 75.4%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 81, Duolingo 105.
Yes. A Vietnamese freshman from a foreign high school can receive a GPA-based Detroit Mercy scholarship of up to $10,000 per academic year, renewable, with full-time enrollment and English-proficiency requirements. Need-based aid, need-blind status, and a CSS Profile/international aid-form process are not stated.
Getting in. The school admits 75.4% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 520–630, Math 510–630, ACT 22–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 81+ or Duolingo 105+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 42,211 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/11. You apply through Detroit Mercy's website. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Detroit Mercy?
International tuition is 32,946 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 42,211 USD.
Does University of Detroit Mercy offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes. A Vietnamese freshman from a foreign high school can receive a GPA-based Detroit Mercy scholarship of up to $10,000 per academic year, renewable, with full-time enrollment and English-proficiency requirements. Need-based aid, need-blind status, and a CSS Profile/international aid-form process are not stated.
What English scores does University of Detroit Mercy require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 81, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Detroit Mercy?
The acceptance rate is 75.4%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Country or region-specific scholarships
Detroit Mercy scholarship for Canadian Undergraduate International FreshmenIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Application method unclearSchool page10,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M
The Canadian International Undergraduate Students section says full-time freshmen receive a scholarship through the Admissions Office, so they are not excluded.
- Renewable in later years
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- ImTej2023Vlog
- ImTej2023Vlog
- Scholarship Insider Hub2025Applying
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearUnclear: the international page says Admissions awards the scholarship, but does not state that admission applicants are considered automatically.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearUnclear: the pages do not say whether ability to pay is considered in international admission decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearUnclear: no instruction requires the CSS Profile or a separate financial-aid form for international students.
Scholarships at this school
Detroit Mercy scholarship for Other International Undergraduate FreshmenMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page10,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M
Yes: students from foreign high schools are considered for awards based on high-school GPA, subject to English-proficiency requirements.
- Renewable in later years
Detroit Mercy scholarship for Canadian Undergraduate International FreshmenIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Country or region specificCountry or region specificReserved for students from specific countries or regions.Application method unclearSchool page
The Canadian International Undergraduate Students section says full-time freshmen receive a scholarship through the Admissions Office, so they are not excluded.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- EssaysRequired
- Proof of fundsiA bank statement is required; the Statement of Financial Support is needed only when the statement is in a sponsor’s name.Required
- Supplementary applicationiThe application requires a copy of the passport information pages.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Fall Early Action application deadline (EA)Applicationabout17days
- Fall scholarship priority deadlineScholarship+47 days
- Early Action notification date (EA)Decision+61 days
- 5-Year Physician Assistant Regular Admission application deadline (RD)Application+92 days
- Fall Regular/Rolling Admission application deadline (ROLLING)Application+137 days
- 5-Year PA Regular Admission notification date (RD)Decision+137 days
- Spring/Summer Regular/Rolling Admission application deadline (ROLLING)Application+168 days
- 5-Year PA Regular Admission reply deadline (RD)Other+168 days
- Deadline to submit an enrollment-deposit refund requestDeposit+198 days
- Early Action reply deadline (EA)Other+198 days
- Scholarship Priority reply deadlineOther+198 days
- Regular Admission reply deadline (RD)Other+198 days
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
52 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data