
University of Idaho
- Public
- Research university
University of Idaho: international tuition 29,300 USD per year, one-year total cost 50,267 USD, acceptance rate 75.5%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 4, Duolingo 100.
Yes. A Vietnamese first-year international student may be automatically considered for Invitation to Idaho if eligible, or apply for #YouAreWelcomeHere. The pages do not confirm institutional need-based aid for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 75.5% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 500–630, Math 490–600, ACT 20–26. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 4+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 50,267 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. Health insurance is 2,412 USD a year.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/5. You apply through U of I. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Idaho?
International tuition is 29,300 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 50,267 USD.
Does University of Idaho offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes. A Vietnamese first-year international student may be automatically considered for Invitation to Idaho if eligible, or apply for #YouAreWelcomeHere. The pages do not confirm institutional need-based aid for international students.
What English scores does University of Idaho require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 4, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Idaho?
The acceptance rate is 75.5%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Kiều Giang 2025Applying
- Yeze2025Vlog
- Rojan Basnyat2023Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
The page says international students pay the non-resident rate; this figure combines tuition and fees, and excludes the international student fee and health insurance.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesYes: new international students are automatically considered for Invitation to Idaho, with no separate scholarship application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearUnclear: there is no statement that admissions decisions disregard an international applicant's ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearUnclear: no CSS Profile or separate international financial-aid form requirement is stated.
Scholarships at this school
#YouAreWelcomeHere ScholarshipOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Award: covering 50% of tuition for up to four years of study
Yes: the scholarship is open to first-year international students admitted to undergraduate degree programs.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Fall 2026 Priority Deadline: April 13, 2026. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis year-round.
Invitation to IdahoTuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Award: valued at almost $16,000 per year
Yes: the page explicitly includes international students in Invitation to Idaho eligibility, subject to the program conditions.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Summer session last day to apply (ROLLING)Applicationin137days
- Fall semester last day to apply (ROLLING)Application+198 days
- New Student Orientation start dateOrientation+307 days
- New Student Orientation end dateOrientation+311 days
Credit for exams
IB is among credentials that may be considered for transfer credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
GCE-A Level is listed as a credential that may be considered for transfer credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP is listed as a credential that may be considered for transfer credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
IB is listed by the university as a credential that may be eligible for transfer credit.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
56 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data