
University of Kansas
- Public
- Research university
University of Kansas: international tuition 30,432 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 45,081 USD, acceptance rate 93.5%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79.
International first-year students at KU are considered for GPA-based merit scholarships (up to $64,000 over four years, renewable with a 3.0 GPA). Need-based aid can be requested via the ISNAW form, but whether KU is need-blind for international applicants is not stated.
Getting in. The school admits 92.6% of applicants (20,541 of 22,187). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–650, Math 520–640, ACT 20–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+ or TOEFL iBT 79+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 45,081 USD, before any scholarship. 7 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 330 international students got financial aid, 12,572 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/5. You apply through online application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Kansas?
International tuition is 30,432 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 45,081 USD.
Does University of Kansas offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. International first-year students at KU are considered for GPA-based merit scholarships (up to $64,000 over four years, renewable with a 3.0 GPA). Need-based aid can be requested via the ISNAW form, but whether KU is need-blind for international applicants is not stated.
What English scores does University of Kansas require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Kansas?
The acceptance rate is 93.5%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Tenley Rude2024Vlog
- Tenley Rude2025Vlog
- Explore USA Cities2023Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe admissions page says one application is considered for both admission and scholarships, but that sentence does not mention international students, and the two pages give different deadlines (May 1 vs Dec 1), so it is not certain.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages say nothing about whether admission decisions for international applicants consider ability to pay, so no conclusion can be drawn.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?YesTo apply for a need-based scholarship, international students must submit KU's own ISNAW form (not the CSS Profile). GPA-based merit scholarships do not need this form.
Scholarships at this school
Departmental scholarships for first-year international studentsOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The checklist says some departments offer scholarships to first-year international students, but gives no amounts or specific criteria.
KU AccessMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page8,000 USD/year≈ ₫209M
It appears in the freshman scholarship table on the International Admissions page, based on a 3.25-3.49 GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 1 for fall (world.ku.edu); December 1 (admissions.ku.edu)
KU AchievementMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page12,000 USD/year≈ ₫313M
It appears in the freshman scholarship table on the International Admissions page, based on a 3.70-3.84 GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 1 for fall (world.ku.edu); December 1 (admissions.ku.edu)
KU DistinctionMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page14,000 USD/year≈ ₫365M
It appears in the freshman scholarship table on the International Admissions page, based on a 3.85-3.94 GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 1 for fall (world.ku.edu); December 1 (admissions.ku.edu)
KU ExcellenceMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page16,000 USD/year≈ ₫417M
The International Admissions page lists this award for international freshmen, based on a 3.95-4.00 GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 1 for fall (world.ku.edu); December 1 (admissions.ku.edu)
KU International Student Tuition Grant (KUISTG)Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
It is for international students, but requires one full academic year at KU first, so incoming freshmen cannot apply yet.
KU PerformanceMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page10,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M
It appears in the freshman scholarship table on the International Admissions page, based on a 3.50-3.69 GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 1 for fall (world.ku.edu); December 1 (admissions.ku.edu)
Financial aid dates (first year)
- 01/02Priority filing date
- 01/02Priority filing date
Forms international students file for aid
- Other form
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyiYou must provide an English test score or other proof when you apply, and scores must be less than two years old.Required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- International undergraduate spring application deadlineApplicationabout31days
- International undergraduate fall scholarship deadlineScholarship+198 days
- Fall application deadline for students outside the U.S.Application+198 days
- Fall application deadline for students within the U.S. and Applied English Center applicantsApplication+283 days
What the school weighs in admission
- GPAVery important
- SATACTConsidered
- Rigor of secondary school recordNot considered
- Class rankNot considered
- Application essayNot considered
- RecommendationsNot considered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Character / personal qualitiesNot considered
- Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
- First generationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- InterviewNot considered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Talent / abilityNot considered
- Volunteer workNot considered
- Work experienceNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
57 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data