
University of Maryland-College Park
- Public
- Research university
University of Maryland-College Park: international tuition 41,186 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 58,676 USD, acceptance rate 44.8%. Neither merit scholarships nor need-based aid are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, TOEFL iBT 95, Duolingo 120.
Vietnamese F-1 freshmen generally cannot get aid from UMD itself, either merit or need-based, because this public university says it cannot provide financial assistance to international students. Proof of funds for one year is required after admission.
Getting in. The school admits 44.8% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 690–750, Math 710–780, ACT 32–35. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 7+, TOEFL iBT 95+ or Duolingo 120+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 58,676 USD, before any scholarship. 2 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/11. You apply through ApplyWeb. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Maryland-College Park?
International tuition is 41,186 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 58,676 USD.
Does University of Maryland-College Park offer scholarships for international students?
Neither merit scholarships nor need-based aid are open to international students. Vietnamese F-1 freshmen generally cannot get aid from UMD itself, either merit or need-based, because this public university says it cannot provide financial assistance to international students. Proof of funds for one year is required after admission.
What English scores does University of Maryland-College Park require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 7, TOEFL iBT 95, Duolingo 120.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Maryland-College Park?
The acceptance rate is 44.8%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerNoAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school gives international students no financial aid at admission.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Vlogging With Jen2023Vlog
- UMD INFO College2024Official
- UMD Science2022Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearMerit is reviewed automatically for applications submitted by the Nov 1 deadline, but only for eligible students (U.S. citizens, eligible non-citizens). No page states this applies to F-1 students, so it is unclear.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages only say proof of funds is submitted after admission and enrollment confirmation. None explicitly states that admission decisions ignore ability to pay, so this is unclear.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearNo page mentions the CSS Profile or a separate international aid form, because UMD does not award aid to this group. Students only submit financial certification after admission.
Scholarships at this school
Banneker/Key ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: November 1 early action deadline
Dean's ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- First year only
Deadline: November 1 early action deadline; notification by April 1
President's ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: November 1 early action deadline; notification by April 1
- Terrapin CommitmentIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Counselor recommendationRequired
- Teacher recommendationRequired
- EssaysiThe essay is a required part of the online application.Required
- SATACTOptional
- English proficiencyiScores must be under two years old and sent directly by the testing agency; a waiver may be granted.Required
- Proof of fundsiFinancial certification is only needed after admission, not at the application stage.Not required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 164 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Non-binding Early Action application deadline, freshman Fall (EA)Applicationabout17days
- Regular deadline, freshman Fall (RD)Application+97 days
- Early Action decision by February 1 (EA)Decision+109 days
- Regular Decision release for international freshmen entering in fall (RD)Decision+168 days
- Enrollment confirmation deadline if admittedOther+198 days
- Enrollment confirmation deadline for international freshmen entering in fallDeposit+198 days
Credit for exams
To get degree credit for AP exams, send official scores after you receive an admission offer; the page does not state a minimum score.
To get degree credit for IB exams, send official scores after you receive an admission offer; the page does not state a minimum score.
To get degree credit for A/AS level exams, send official scores after you receive an admission offer; the page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
83 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data