
University of Missouri-Kansas City
- Public
- Research university
University of Missouri-Kansas City: international tuition 30,227 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 42,960 USD, acceptance rate 72.2%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 70, Duolingo 100.
Yes: a Vietnamese first-year bachelor's student in F-1 status can be eligible for UMKC merit scholarships based on academic performance. The pages do not confirm need-based aid, need-blind admissions, or an international aid-form requirement.
Getting in. The school admits 76% of applicants (3,774 of 4,967). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 640–760, Math 650–790, ACT 20–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 70+ or Duolingo 100+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 42,960 USD, before any scholarship. 4 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 15/1. You apply through common application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Missouri-Kansas City?
International tuition is 30,227 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 42,960 USD.
Does University of Missouri-Kansas City offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes: a Vietnamese first-year bachelor's student in F-1 status can be eligible for UMKC merit scholarships based on academic performance. The pages do not confirm need-based aid, need-blind admissions, or an international aid-form requirement.
What English scores does University of Missouri-Kansas City require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 70, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Missouri-Kansas City?
The acceptance rate is 72.2%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- The RB Diaries2025Vlog
- Adda Desi2023Applying
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says awards are determined at admission but does not confirm that no separate scholarship application is required.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages do not say whether ability to pay is considered in international admissions decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages do not mention a CSS Profile or a separate aid form for international students.
Scholarships at this school
Chancellor's International AwardTuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: 100% of Non-Resident Tuition differential
This award is in the merit-based group for F-1 bachelor's students and is based on academic performance.
- Renewable in later years
Dean's International AwardTuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: 60% of Non-Resident Tuition differential
This award is in the merit-based group for F-1 bachelor's students and is based on academic performance.
- Renewable in later years
Global Scholar AwardTuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: 50% of Non-Resident Tuition differential
This award is in the merit-based group for F-1 bachelor's students and is based on academic performance.
- Renewable in later years
Provost's International AwardTuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Application method unclearSchool page
Award: 80% of Non-Resident Tuition differential
This award is in the merit-based group for F-1 bachelor's students and is based on academic performance.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptiAn official high school transcript is needed; the university prefers it sent electronically by your high school.Required
- SATACTiSAT/ACT scores are not required if you choose test-optional admission.Optional
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Spring priority application deadline for undergraduatesApplicationin31days
- Fall priority application deadline for first-time college studentsApplication+92 days
- Fall application deadline for undergraduatesApplication+243 days
- Deadline for official high school transcript and other documents (Fall)Documents+259 days
Admission odds in numbers
Credit for exams
AP credit earned in high school can count toward UMKC degree requirements; this page does not state a minimum score.
IB credit earned in high school can count toward UMKC degree requirements; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
53 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data