
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
- Public
- Research university
University of Nebraska-Lincoln: international tuition 31,942 USD per year, one-year total cost 53,922 USD, acceptance rate 87.5%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79.
First-year international students are automatically considered for merit scholarships (up to about US$15,000/year), but need-based aid is for domestic students only.
Getting in. The school admits 87.5% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 560–670, Math 538–660, ACT 22–28. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+ or TOEFL iBT 79+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 53,922 USD, before any scholarship. 8 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
International tuition is 31,942 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 53,922 USD.
Does University of Nebraska-Lincoln offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. First-year international students are automatically considered for merit scholarships (up to about US$15,000/year), but need-based aid is for domestic students only.
What English scores does University of Nebraska-Lincoln require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
The acceptance rate is 87.5%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Vivaday2024Vlog
- University of Nebraska–Lincoln2026Official
- Journey247 Walking Videos2022Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe admissions page says international students are automatically considered for scholarships when admitted, with no separate application stated for this group.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe pages say nothing on whether international admission ignores ability to pay; they only require proof of funds for the I-20, so this cannot be determined.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearNo page mentions the CSS Profile or a separate international aid form; FAFSA is only for domestic students and the process varies by international scholarship, so it is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
Frank and Shirley Marsh Scholarship FundNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
Open to undergraduate international students with financial need, but the ISSO page says these are for currently enrolled students, not incoming first-years.
Global Ambassador ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page10,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M
Listed for first-year international students, so eligible.
Deadline: Apply by May 1
Global Delegate ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page4,000 USD/year≈ ₫104M
Listed for first-year international students, so eligible.
Deadline: Apply by May 1
Global Excellence Tuition ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Listed under First-Year International Scholars, so for international students.
Global Laureate ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page15,000 USD/year≈ ₫391M
Listed for first-year international students, so eligible.
Deadline: Apply by May 1
International Scholarship Program AgreementsOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page15,000 USD/year≈ ₫391M
Listed for international students; may depend on partner agreements, so check details.
Ngaruiya Family Fund for Undergraduate ResearchOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
For undergraduates with an international background interested in STEM research; part of the ISSO scholarships for currently enrolled students.
UNL International Student Scholarship FundNeed-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Application method unclearSchool page
Open to international students with a cumulative GPA of 3.5+ and financial need; only for international students currently enrolled at UNL.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Fall 2027 priority application deadlineApplicationin17days
- Spring English-proficiency deadlineDocuments+47 days
- Spring enrollment deposit deadlineDeposit+47 days
- Fall 2027 final application deadlineApplication+198 days
- Summer English-proficiency deadlineDocuments+198 days
- Fall/Summer enrollment deposit deadlineDeposit+198 days
- Enrollment deposit deadline for fall 2027Deposit+198 days
- Fall English-proficiency deadlineDocuments+273 days
Credit for exams
The university awards transfer credit for successfully completed individual IB courses; this page does not state a minimum score.
The university awards transfer credit for successfully completed Cambridge International Exams (A Level); this page does not state a minimum score.
The university may award credit for successfully completed individual IB courses; this page does not state a minimum score.
The university may award credit for Cambridge International Exams (A Level); this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
45 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 14/10/2026How Duckling sources data