
University of Southern Maine
- Public
University of Southern Maine: international tuition 29,100 USD per year, one-year total cost 53,490 USD, acceptance rate 79.2%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 105.
Yes: a Vietnamese first-year undergraduate who applies by USM's stated deadline is automatically considered for USM merit scholarships, listed at $7,000 to $11,000 per year depending on GPA, plus a one-time $2,000 award. Need-based aid eligibility for international students is unclear.
Getting in. The school admits 79.2% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 500–650, Math 490–600, ACT 24–28. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 105+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 53,490 USD, before any scholarship. 4 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. Health insurance is 3,000 USD a year.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/12. You apply through The Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Southern Maine?
International tuition is 29,100 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 53,490 USD.
Does University of Southern Maine offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes: a Vietnamese first-year undergraduate who applies by USM's stated deadline is automatically considered for USM merit scholarships, listed at $7,000 to $11,000 per year depending on GPA, plus a one-time $2,000 award. Need-based aid eligibility for international students is unclear.
What English scores does University of Southern Maine require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 105.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Southern Maine?
The acceptance rate is 79.2%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- life with karin2023Vlog
- Marty Carrillo2023Campus tour
- University of Southern Maine2023Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Tuition by group
- Level 129,100 USD≈ ₫759M
- Level 230,870 USD≈ ₫805M
- Level 332,580 USD≈ ₫850M
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesUSM states that international students are automatically considered for Academic Merit-Based Scholarships when they apply by the deadline.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages do not state whether USM considers an international applicant's ability to pay in admission decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe provided pages do not require a CSS Profile or a separate international-student financial-aid form.
Scholarships at this school
Dirigo ScholarMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page11,000 USD/year≈ ₫287M
USM's international page says international applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; Dirigo Scholar is for first-year students with a 3.0–3.49 high-school GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Apply by the stated deadline.
Presidential Recognition AwardMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page2,000 USD≈ ₫52.2M
USM's international page says international applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; this award is for first-year students with a high-school GPA of 3.5 or higher.
- First year only
Deadline: Apply by the stated deadline.
Presidential ScholarMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page11,000 USD/year≈ ₫287M
USM's international page says international applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; Presidential Scholar is for first-year students with a high-school GPA of 3.5 or higher.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Apply by the stated deadline.
USM ScholarMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page7,000 USD/year≈ ₫183M
USM's international page says international applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; USM Scholar is for first-year students with a 2.75–2.99 high-school GPA.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Apply by the stated deadline.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
- EssaysRecommended
- Counselor recommendationRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- International student application deadline for Spring/JanuaryApplicationabout0days
- Early Action application deadline for fall term (EA)Application+47 days
- Early Action supporting-materials deadline (EA)Documents+61 days
- Priority enrollment deposit deadline for spring termDeposit+79 days
- Guaranteed Early Action admission decision date (EA)Decision+92 days
- Priority deadline for academic scholarship considerationScholarship+109 days
- Priority deadline for supporting materialsDocuments+123 days
- Priority enrollment deposit deadline for fall termDeposit+198 days
- International student application deadline for Fall/SeptemberApplication+229 days
Credit for exams
USM may grant AP placement and credit for superior performance, but this page gives no minimum score.
USM may grant IB placement and credit for superior performance, but this page gives no minimum score.
USM may review strong AP performance for placement and graduation credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
USM may review strong IB performance for placement and graduation credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
45 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data