
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
- Public
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: international tuition 20,273 USD per year, one-year total cost 33,831 USD, acceptance rate 82.3%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 4, Duolingo 115.
Yes. A Vietnamese first-year student on an F-1 visa may qualify for UWEC Out-of-State Awards, whose first-year levels are based on GPA. It is unclear whether the school offers need-based aid, need-blind admission, or a separate aid form for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 38.5% of applicants (2,612 of 6,785). Admitted students scored around ACT 22–27. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 4+ or Duolingo 115+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 33,831 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 170 international students got financial aid, 4,596 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/2. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 12/10/2026Cost checked 12/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
International tuition is 20,273 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 33,831 USD.
Does University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes. A Vietnamese first-year student on an F-1 visa may qualify for UWEC Out-of-State Awards, whose first-year levels are based on GPA. It is unclear whether the school offers need-based aid, need-blind admission, or a separate aid form for international students.
What English scores does University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 4, Duolingo 115.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire?
The acceptance rate is 82.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire2026Official
- University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire2024Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
This is the combined tuition and fees for non-resident students in UW-Eau Claire's main undergraduate program, 2026-27.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says some scholarships may use the admission application alone, but it does not confirm this applies to international students.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages do not say whether admission ignores an international applicant's ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe provided pages do not mention the CSS Profile or a separate financial-aid form for international students.
Scholarships at this school
Out-of-State AwardsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page4,000 – 32,000 USD≈ ₫104M – ₫835M
This award explicitly applies to international students on F-1 visas paying the nonresident or Midwest Tuition Program rate.
- Renewable in later years
First-Year Honors GuaranteeIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not state whether international students are eligible for the Honors College and this guarantee.
- First year only
Tommy G. Thompson Leadership ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state citizenship or visa eligibility; however, freshmen without a cumulative GPA are ineligible.
- First year only
Deadline: December 1
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Regular Decision application and required-documents deadline for fall admission (RD)Applicationabout109days
- Semester-grades deadline for postponed applicantsDocuments+123 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- GPAVery important
- Class rankImportant
- Application essayImportant
- Level of applicant's interestImportant
- SATACTConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
- Talent / abilityConsidered
- Character / personal qualitiesConsidered
- First generationConsidered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- RecommendationsNot considered
- InterviewNot considered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
Credit for exams
An AP score of 3 or higher can earn UW-Eau Claire credit, counted as a specific course, a general education outcome, or a general elective.
Scores that count12345
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
66 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data