
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
- Public
- Research university
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee: international tuition 24,004 USD per year, one-year total cost 36,930 USD, acceptance rate 90.7%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS ≈ 5, TOEFL iBT ≈ 65.
First-year international students are automatically considered for UWM's merit scholarship of up to $6,000 per year, renewable for up to four years. The pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind admission or CSS Profile for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 90.7% of applicants. Admitted students scored around ACT 18–25. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 5+ or TOEFL iBT 65+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 36,930 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/6. You apply through University of Wisconsin–System application or Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 14/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee?
International tuition is 24,004 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 36,930 USD.
Does University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. First-year international students are automatically considered for UWM's merit scholarship of up to $6,000 per year, renewable for up to four years. The pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind admission or CSS Profile for international students.
What English scores does University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS ≈ 5, TOEFL iBT ≈ 65.
What is the acceptance rate at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee?
The acceptance rate is 90.7%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerYesAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.If you are admitted, the offer comes with aid: the school either sets what your family pays based on finances, or takes a merit scholarship off the tuition.You will need: no separate scholarship essay — the school considers you for merit aid from your application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- MOHITH 2023Vlog
- Abby McBee2023Vlog
- Manasi Ambedkar2023Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?YesThe international student page says undergraduates are considered for the merit scholarship upon admission, with no separate application required.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearNo page says whether admission decisions for international students take ability to pay into account.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearNo page mentions the CSS Profile or a separate international aid form; the merit scholarship needs no separate application, but need-based aid is not addressed.
Scholarships at this school
UWM International Undergraduate ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page6,000 USD/year≈ ₫156M
The page explicitly states this scholarship is for newly admitted international undergraduates, based on academic merit.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Admitted by May 1 for fall intake; October 1 for spring intake (for full consideration)
Admission ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page refers to incoming first-year students generally and does not specify whether international students are eligible.
Chancellor's Merit ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page describes it for first-year students with a 3.4+ GPA and does not state whether international students qualify.
- Renewable in later years
Milwaukee Advantage Program (MAP)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Application method unclearSchool page
MAP lists eligible states of residence but does not explicitly state that international students are excluded.
- Renewable in later years
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyRequired
- High-school transcriptRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Admission and scholarship priority deadline for fall 2027Scholarshipin17days
- Spring 2027 application closing deadlineApplication+47 days
- I-20 request deadline for students outside the U.S., spring intakeOther+78 days
- I-20 request deadline for spring intake for students outside the U.S.Documents+78 days
- Orientation registration deadline for spring 2027Orientation+84 days
- Orientation registration and housing application priority deadline for fall 2027Orientation+198 days
- Fall intake application deadline for students outside the U.S.Application+229 days
- I-20 request deadline for students outside the U.S., fall intakeOther+273 days
- I-20 request deadline for fall intake for students outside the U.S.Documents+273 days
- Fall 2027 application closing deadlineApplication+290 days
Credit for exams
UWM requires official AP scores to evaluate possible credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
UWM requires official IB scores to evaluate possible credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
74 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 14/10/2026How Duckling sources data