
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
- Public
- Research university
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University: international tuition 37,764 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 58,767 USD, acceptance rate 54.8%. This page lists 1 scholarship open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 115.
Getting in. The school admits 54.8% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 640–710, Math 640–740, ACT 28–32. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 80+ or Duolingo 115+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 58,767 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 15/11. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University?
International tuition is 37,764 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 58,767 USD.
Does Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University offer scholarships for international students?
This page lists 1 scholarship open to international students. International students can apply for college and departmental scholarships through Scholarship Central, but the pages do not say whether they are merit or need-based. General aid requires a FAFSA or VASA, which students in Vietnam are unlikely to qualify for; remaining options are private loans and outside scholarships.
What English scores does Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Duolingo 115.
What is the acceptance rate at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University?
The acceptance rate is 54.8%.
- Pay in fullYes
- Aid with the offerUnclear
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclear
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifei
- Chuyện Nhà Lem2022Campus tour
- Natybird2023Vlog
- Julia Vecharello2022Vlog
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
iAbout VND conversion
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
College and departmental scholarships (via Scholarship Central)OtherApplication method unclearSchool page
The page states international students may apply for college and departmental scholarships even if they cannot file a FAFSA.
Virginia Tech Advantage / Presidential Scholarship InitiativeIntl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherApplication method unclearSchool page
The program targets in-state undergraduates; the page never mentions international students, so eligibility cannot be concluded as Yes or No.
- Renewable in later years
Virginia Tech general scholarships (via General Scholarship Application)Intl?Intl eligibility unclearOtherSeparate application requiredSchool page
The page says the FAFSA and General Application determine eligibility for many scholarships but does not say whether international students qualify.
Deadline: January 22
Admission requirements
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
DeadlinesFall 2027
- First-Year Early Action application deadline (EA)Applicationin30days
- Early Action STARS or transcript deadline (EA)Documents+46 days
- Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+91 days
- Early Action General Scholarship deadline (EA)Scholarship+98 days
- Regular Decision General Scholarship deadline (RD)Scholarship+98 days
- General Scholarship Application deadlineScholarship+98 days
- Regular Decision STARS or transcript deadline (RD)Documents+100 days
- Early Action admission-offer response deadline (EA)Other+197 days
- Regular Decision admission-offer response deadline (RD)Other+197 days
Credit for exams
The university lists AP among exams that may receive credit; this page does not state a minimum AP score.
The university lists International Baccalaureate among exams that may receive credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
The university lists A Levels among exams that may receive credit; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
68 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
* U.S. median for this field — the school publishes no figure of its own.
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: one of the 50 U.S. schools with the most international undergraduates (College Scorecard). Source
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data