
Washington College
- Private
- Liberal arts college
Washington College: international tuition 55,326 USD per year, one-year total cost 73,314 USD, acceptance rate 56.9%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 115.
International first-year applicants, including Vietnamese students, can seek merit scholarships at Washington College; the page explicitly refers to international merit recipients. Need-based aid remains unclear because WC Need-Based Grants require the FAFSA and no international guidance is provided.
Getting in. The school admits 93.8% of applicants (3,294 of 3,512). Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 560–690, Math 530–640, ACT 22–30. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+ or Duolingo 115+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 73,314 USD, before any scholarship. 3 scholarships come with an amount, but none says international students can apply, so nothing is taken off yet. According to the Common Data Set 2025-2026, 15 international students got financial aid, 49,472 USD each on average.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 15/11. You apply through Common App. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 13/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Washington College?
International tuition is 55,326 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 73,314 USD.
Does Washington College offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. International first-year applicants, including Vietnamese students, can seek merit scholarships at Washington College; the page explicitly refers to international merit recipients. Need-based aid remains unclear because WC Need-Based Grants require the FAFSA and no international guidance is provided.
What English scores does Washington College require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 115.
What is the acceptance rate at Washington College?
The acceptance rate is 56.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- English with Cambridge2023Applying
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe College says all first-year applicants are automatically considered for merit, but does not separately confirm this process for international students.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages do not state whether admissions ignores international students' ability to pay.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages require the FAFSA for need-based grants but do not mention a CSS Profile or an international-specific aid form.
Scholarships at this school
Chairman's ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page requires recipients to be children of current GE Aerospace employees, but does not state international-student eligibility.
- Renewable in later years
Civic Innovation ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
Eligibility is based on Maryland DSCI/AmeriCorps service programs; the page does not state international-student eligibility.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: February 15, 2027
Honors FellowshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page says first-year students may apply but does not confirm eligibility for international students.
Deadline: December 1
Merit-Based Academic Tuition ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page refers generally to a “merit scholarship” for international students, but does not clearly identify it as the named “Merit-Based Academic Tuition Scholarships.”
Deadline: December 1
Tuition Exchange ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Separate application requiredSchool page
This scholarship is for applications from Tuition Exchange member institutions; the page does not state citizenship eligibility.
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- Counselor recommendationiOne recommendation letter from a counselor, teacher or school administrator is needed.Required
- EssaysRequired
- Supplementary applicationOptional
- Proof of fundsRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 190 United States schools admitting 40–70% that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
- Fall Early Decision application deadline (ED)Applicationabout31days
- Spring Decision deadlineApplication+31 days
- Fall Early Action application deadline (EA)Application+47 days
- Application deadline for Visit Grant eligibility (EA)Scholarship+47 days
- Early Decision admission notification date (ED)Decision+61 days
- Early Action admission notification date (EA)Decision+92 days
- Fall Regular Decision application deadline (RD)Application+123 days
- Visit deadline for Visit Grant eligibility (EA)Scholarship+137 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- GPAVery important
- Application essayImportant
- RecommendationsImportant
- InterviewImportant
- Level of applicant's interestImportant
- Class rankConsidered
- SATACTConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
- Talent / abilityConsidered
- Character / personal qualitiesConsidered
- First generationConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
Early rounds & waitlist
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
35 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data