
Western Kentucky University
- Public
Western Kentucky University: international tuition 29,030 USD per year, one-year total cost 45,680 USD, acceptance rate 93.9%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 100.
WKU offers Academic Merit Awards to international students with a minimum 3.0 unweighted GPA and no SAT requirement, so Vietnamese applicants can be considered for merit aid. The pages say nothing on need-based aid or CSS Profile for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 93.9% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 420–530, Math 420–520, ACT 16–21. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 71+ or Duolingo 100+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 45,680 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline is 1/8. You apply through WKU application for admission. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Western Kentucky University?
International tuition is 29,030 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 45,680 USD.
Does Western Kentucky University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. WKU offers Academic Merit Awards to international students with a minimum 3.0 unweighted GPA and no SAT requirement, so Vietnamese applicants can be considered for merit aid. The pages say nothing on need-based aid or CSS Profile for international students.
What English scores does Western Kentucky University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Western Kentucky University?
The acceptance rate is 93.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Tylia Standard2023Vlog
- Western Kentucky University2023Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe Academic Merit Award package is just admission, a high school transcript and optional test scores, so it looks automatic. But the international page does not explicitly say no separate application is needed.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe provided pages do not say whether admission decisions for international students consider ability to pay, so no conclusion can be drawn.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearNo page mentions a CSS Profile or a separate aid form for international students; the Academic Merit Award only lists admission and transcript requirements, so this is unclear.
Scholarships at this school
Academic Merit Award (International Student Scholarship)MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
Listed directly among scholarships for international students, so Yes; the amount is not stated.
Deadline: Priority consideration for applicants applied and admitted by December 12th each year
Automatic ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The page gives GPA/test-score criteria and automatic consideration, but does not state international-student eligibility.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Eligible students must be admitted to WKU by December 31.
Automatic Scholarships for Incoming Freshmen (GPA/test-based)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Admitted by December 31; accept offer by May 1
Cherry Presidential ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Admitted by December 1
TOPDollar Scholarship ApplicationIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
Deadline: Priority deadline December 31 (international page cites December 12)
Tuition Incentive Program (TIP)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Tuition subsidyTuition subsidyA tuition reduction: the school lowers the amount charged instead of giving a separate award.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: Admitted by December 31
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
- Proof of fundsRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
This cycle's dates have passed; the school has not posted next cycle's dates yet.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
75 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data