
Western Michigan University
- Public
- Research university
Western Michigan University: international tuition 19,034 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 33,019 USD, acceptance rate 84.6%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 100.
WMU offers a dedicated merit scholarship for first-year international students (Global Education Undergraduate Merit Scholarship, up to $10,000/year, 3.0 GPA, no separate application). The pages do not clearly describe need-based aid for international students.
Getting in. The school admits 85.3% of applicants (17,853 of 20,927). The SAT range of admitted students is not published. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 71+ or Duolingo 100+. If the English score is not there yet, the school can still admit conditionally.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 33,019 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/6. You apply through Common Application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Western Michigan University?
International tuition is 19,034 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 33,019 USD.
Does Western Michigan University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. WMU offers a dedicated merit scholarship for first-year international students (Global Education Undergraduate Merit Scholarship, up to $10,000/year, 3.0 GPA, no separate application). The pages do not clearly describe need-based aid for international students.
What English scores does Western Michigan University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 71, Duolingo 100.
What is the acceptance rate at Western Michigan University?
The acceptance rate is 84.6%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.The pages we read mention no scholarship with its own application. Not seeing one does not mean there is none — ask the school.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Beby Tsabina TV2022Vlog
- Kendall2023Vlog
- WOOD TV82023Campus tour
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page says no separate scholarship application is needed, but that passage does not name international students in the same quotable sentence, so under the quoting rules this is marked Unclear.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearNo page says whether admission for international students is need-blind; it only says proof of ability to pay is required for an I-20.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe pages never mention a CSS Profile or a separate international aid form; they only say the merit scholarship needs no separate application, so there is not enough basis to conclude.
Scholarships at this school
Global Education Undergraduate Merit ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page10,000 USD/year≈ ₫261M
The scholarship is designed for new F-1/J-1 international students, so a Vietnamese student on F-1 is eligible with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: No separate application; complete WMU admission with all materials. Awarded on a rolling basis while funds last; up to 8 semesters.
Frostic Enrichment GrantsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page lists full-time undergraduate art majors but does not state international-student eligibility.
Deadline: First Friday in December
Frostic Enrichment Grants (Gwen Frostic School of Art)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
This is a school-level grant for current art majors, and the page does not mention international students.
Deadline: First Friday in December
Stapleton-Reinhold ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Separate application requiredSchool page
The page does not state citizenship or international eligibility; it also requires an accelerated graduate program and first-generation status.
Deadline: April 7, 2027 before 5 p.m.
WMU Legacy ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
The page does not say whether international students can receive it, and it is limited to relatives of WMU alumni.
U.S. student figures2025–26Financial aid for all first-year studentsMostly U.S. students, who also get U.S. government aid that international students cannot apply for. A picture of the school's overall aid, not what you would receive.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Spring 2027 first-year application deadlineApplicationin78days
- Summer I 2027 application deadlineApplication+198 days
- Enrollment confirmation deposit deadlineDeposit+198 days
- Rolling Admission for Fall 2027 entry (ROLLING)Application+229 days
- Summer II 2027 application deadlineApplication+243 days
What the school weighs in admission
- Talent / abilityNot considered
- Character / personal qualitiesNot considered
- First generationNot considered
- Alumni relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliationNot considered
Admission odds in numbers
Credit for exams
WMU generally awards AP credit from a score of 3, but some exams require 4 or 5; credit is processed after your first semester begins.
Scores that count12345
AP credit by subject
36 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Classes by size
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 11/10/2026How Duckling sources data