
Widener University
- Private
Widener University: international tuition 55,730 USD per year, one-year total cost 70,621 USD, acceptance rate 70.9%. This page lists 10 scholarships open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 110.
Getting in. The school admits 70.9% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 550–650, Math 530–640. The SAT and ACT are optional: a score counts if you send one, and you can still apply without it. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6.5+, TOEFL iBT 79+ or Duolingo 110+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to 70,621 USD, before any scholarship. 10 scholarships are confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear.
Deadline and visa. The school has not published an application deadline. You apply through online application. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 10/10/2026Cost checked 10/10/2026
What is the tuition at Widener University?
International tuition is 55,730 USD per year. The total cost for one year is 70,621 USD.
Does Widener University offer scholarships for international students?
This page lists 10 scholarships open to international students. Widener offers scholarships exclusive to international first-year students (such as the Presidential, from $25,000/year, considered automatically with the application) and the $2,000/year #YouAreWelcomeHere award (separate application). The pages do not clarify need-based aid, need-blind status or CSS Profile for international students.
What English scores does Widener University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79, Duolingo 110.
What is the acceptance rate at Widener University?
The acceptance rate is 70.9%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school's official pages do not say whether international students get aid at admission — worth asking the admissions office directly.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsYesApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.Win a scholarship and the cost drops; if not, you can still enrol and pay in full.You will need: a scholarship application (or nomination) by its own deadline, usually earlier than the admission deadline.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Widener University2025Campus tour
- Widener University2024Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 727 private United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
What a year costs
Non-resident tuition (College Scorecard); international students pay at least this, some schools add an international fee.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 15/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
Coming soon. Merit and need-based aid policy for international students is being verified from official pages.
Scholarships at this school
#YouAreWelcomeHere ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page2,000 USD/year≈ ₫52.2M
Open to first-year international students, so Vietnamese applicants qualify; a separate online application is required.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 15, 2025
#YouAreWelcomeHereScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Separate application requiredSchool page2,000 USD/year≈ ₫52.2M
The scholarship is explicitly open to first-year undergraduate international students.
- Renewable in later years
Deadline: May 15, 2025
Band Scholarship – Color GuardTalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page2,500 USD/year≈ ₫65.2M
Color Guard falls under the Band Scholarships that international students may apply for.
- Renewable in later years
Band Scholarship – MusicTalentTalentFor talent in arts, music or athletics, judged by portfolio, audition or tryout.Separate application requiredSchool page2,000 – 3,000 USD/year≈ ₫52.2M – ₫78.2M
Band Scholarships are listed among the talent scholarships international students may apply for.
- Renewable in later years
Global Engagement ScholarshipOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Listed among the international-exclusive scholarships; the page gives no amount or criteria.
International A-Levels ScholarshipOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
International-exclusive; likely tied to A-Levels but the page gives no details.
Overseas International Baccalaureate ScholarshipOtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
International-exclusive; it probably requires an IB diploma but the page gives no details.
University Honors Program ScholarshipsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page2,000 USD/year≈ ₫52.2M
The page lists Honors Program Scholarships right after saying international undergraduates can apply for specialty/talent scholarships.
Widener Presidential ScholarshipMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page25,000 USD/year≈ ₫652M
This is listed as an example of an exclusive scholarship for international students.
Widener Presidential Scholarship (international-exclusive)OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page25,000 USD/year≈ ₫652M
Listed among the scholarships exclusive to international students, so citizenship is no barrier; selection criteria are not stated.
Academic (Merit) Scholarships – first-yearIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Academic, Merit ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
High School Leadership Awards (Apogee Scholars Program)Intl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
The award is limited to students from Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware but never explicitly excludes international students, so no conclusion can be drawn.
Honors Program ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.MeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
- Renewable in later years
Maguire Foundation Endowed ScholarshipsIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Separate application requiredSchool page
Requires graduating from a Maguire partner high school and filing the FAFSA; the page does not address international students.
Philadelphia Sister-City ScholarshipIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.OtherOtherDoes not fit the groups above; see the scholarship page for conditions.Application method unclearSchool page
Listed as an international scholarship, but the page does not say which cities or countries qualify, so Vietnam eligibility is unknown.
Widener University Grant-In-AidIntl eligibility unclearThe school does not say whether international students can get this scholarship, so “Cost for a year” at the top does not subtract it. Ask the school before counting on it.Need-basedNeed-basedAwarded on family financial circumstances, usually via the CSS Profile or the school's own form.Considered automatically with the admission applicationSchool page
Eligibility is determined from the FAFSA and the page never mentions international students, so applicability to you is unknown.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptRequired
- English proficiencyRequired
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Deadlines
This cycle's dates have passed; the school has not posted next cycle's dates yet.
Credit for exams
Students who took an AP course and its corresponding exam may be eligible for credit; this page does not state a minimum AP score.
IB exam scores meeting the required level can receive credit, but this page does not display the specific score threshold.
Official AP scores should be sent before your first semester begins; this page does not state a minimum score.
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
51 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 12/10/2026How Duckling sources data