
Winthrop University
- Public
Winthrop University: international tuition 29,636 USD per year, one-year total cost ≈ 44,708 USD, acceptance rate 79.3%. Merit scholarships are open to international students. Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 68, Duolingo 95.
Yes. Winthrop confirms that qualified international students may receive academic and talent scholarships, which supports merit aid eligibility. However, need-based aid, automatic review, need-blind admission, and CSS Profile or separate-form requirements are not stated.
Getting in. The school admits 79.3% of applicants. Admitted students scored around Reading and Writing 520–630, Math 490–590, ACT 20–27. The school does not require the SAT or ACT. For English, the school asks for IELTS 6+, TOEFL iBT 68+ or Duolingo 95+.
Cost for a year. One year comes to about 44,708 USD, before any scholarship. 1 scholarship is confirmed for international students, but nothing is taken off yet because the amount of each one is not clear. For the I-20, the school needs proof of 46,585 USD.
Deadline and visa. The application deadline for fall is 1/11. You apply through admission portal. How long the visa takes is up to the consulate; see the country note.
Admissions checked 11/10/2026Cost checked 11/10/2026
What is the tuition at Winthrop University?
International tuition is 29,636 USD per year. The total cost for one year is ≈ 44,708 USD.
Does Winthrop University offer scholarships for international students?
Merit scholarships are open to international students. Yes. Winthrop confirms that qualified international students may receive academic and talent scholarships, which supports merit aid eligibility. However, need-based aid, automatic review, need-blind admission, and CSS Profile or separate-form requirements are not stated.
What English scores does Winthrop University require?
Published minimum English scores: IELTS 6, TOEFL iBT 68, Duolingo 95.
What is the acceptance rate at Winthrop University?
The acceptance rate is 79.3%.
- Pay in fullYesPay in fullOnce admitted you can enrol straight away — no scholarship decision to wait for.Your family covers all tuition and living costs for every year of the degree.You will need: your application and proof that your family can pay — the school needs it to issue your visa documents.
- Aid with the offerUnclearAid with the offerThe school decides aid while reviewing your application, so any need-based or merit award arrives with the offer.The school has merit scholarships for international students, but does not say whether they are automatic or need their own application.
- Apply separately for scholarshipsUnclearApply separately for scholarshipsOn top of the admission application, you send a separate scholarship application or get nominated.There are scholarships open to international students, but the pages do not say whether they need their own application.
For Vietnamese students
Vietnamese community nearby
Students on campus lifeiPublic YouTube videos by students and the school, matched to this school's name; Vietnamese videos first. Each reflects its creator's own view.
- Winthrop University Graduate Studies2024Official
Contact
Tuition and cost for a year
Compared with 375 public United States schools with published tuition in Duckling's data.
This is the undergraduate annual tuition in the international student cost table for 2022-2023, not for the current academic year.
VND converted at Vietcombank's selling rate on 16/10/2026; indicative only — the real amount depends on the rate when you pay.
Scholarships and aid for international students
- Is merit considered automatically with the application?UnclearThe page requires new students to apply for admission and be accepted, but does not say merit scholarships are automatically considered without a separate scholarship application.
- Is admission need-blind for international applicants?UnclearThe supplied pages do not state whether an international student's ability to pay is considered in admission decisions.
- Is the CSS Profile or a school aid form required?UnclearThe supplied pages do not mention a CSS Profile or a dedicated financial-aid form required for international students.
Scholarships at this school
Academic and Talent Scholarships for International StudentsMeritMeritAwarded on achievement (grades, awards, activities), regardless of family finances.Application method unclearSchool page
The page confirms that qualified international students can receive academic and talent scholarships.
Admission requirements
Compared with 349 United States schools that publish an application fee in Duckling's data.
SAT / ACT of enrolled students
English
Application requirements
- High-school transcriptiOfficial transcripts in the original language are needed, with certified English translations and a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member.Required
- SATACTiSAT/ACT is not required for international students but is encouraged for scholarship consideration.Not required
- English proficiencyiOfficial proof of English proficiency must be submitted unless an exemption applies.Required
- Proof of fundsiFinancial proof is not an admission criterion, but it is required before the school issues the document for an F or J visa.Not required
How to apply
Minimum English scores vs other schools
Compared with 534 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
Compared with 454 United States schools admitting 70%+ that publish it in Duckling's data.
DeadlinesFall 2027
- Fall priority application deadline (freshmen)Applicationin17days
- Freshman decisions released (fall priority)Decision+47 days
- Spring priority application deadline for freshmenApplication+109 days
- Scholarship deadline for freshman applicantsScholarship+109 days
- Freshman decisions released (spring priority)Decision+123 days
- Regular application deadline (freshmen) (RD)Application+198 days
- Enrollment fee and scholarships dateDeposit+198 days
Credit for exams
AP exam scores of 3 or higher can earn you college credit at Winthrop.
Scores that count12345IB Higher Level exams scoring 4+ can earn credit; Math with Further Maths and Computing Studies require a minimum of 5.
Scores that count1234567
AP credit by subject
Lowest score that earns credit or placement, as the college reported to College Board. This is not an admission requirement. One exam can have several rows: a higher score sometimes earns more credit. Policy page the college gave College Board
57 courses. Scroll inside the table to see all.
Programs
Outcomes
Staying in United States after graduation
OPT: 12 months of work in your field after each degree level; degrees on the DHS STEM list can extend by 24 months (up to 36 months in total). Unemployment during OPT is capped at 90 days (150 days with the STEM extension). Note: on 8 October 2026 DHS published a PROPOSED rule charging USD 70,000 for initial OPT and USD 30,000 for later OPT; it is not in force, and comments close on 9 November 2026.
Climate
School & campus
Where the school is
Detailed map
Academics & housing
Why this school is listed: accepts applications through the Common App.
Updated 10/10/2026How Duckling sources data